FDA-cleared profile

IRISeg

Intuitive Surgical, Inc.

Authorized purpose: IRISeg accepts MR or contrast-enhanced CT images for manual and machine-learning image analysis and segmentation and produces visual three-dimensional models for preoperative planning or intraoperative display; output is non-diagnostic and requires clinician decisions.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: IRISeg accepts MR or contrast-enhanced CT images for manual and machine-learning image analysis and segmentation and produces visual three-dimensional models for preoperative planning or intraoperative display; output is non-diagnostic and requires clinician decisions.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: IRISeg accepts MR or contrast-enhanced CT images for manual and machine-learning image analysis and segmentation and produces visual three-dimensional models for preoperative planning or intraoperative display; output is non-diagnostic and requires clinician decisions.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: The exact FDA decision material describes DICOM MR and contrast-enhanced CT input, manual and machine-learning segmentation, kidney CT use for adults with axial slices no thicker than 3 mm, and non-diagnostic rendered output. MR use is manual where the exact package says so.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
IRISeg accepts MR or contrast-enhanced CT images for manual and machine-learning image analysis and segmentation and produces visual three-dimensional models for preoperative planning or intraoperative display; output is non-diagnostic and requires clinician decisions.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Qualified imaging professionals and physicians trained for the represented anatomy and workflow.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Hospital or outpatient imaging analysis, reporting, or surgical-planning environments.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Medical-image processing, measurement, quantification, visualization, and reporting support.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Supported DICOM images, study metadata, and release-specific user inputs.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Measurements, segmentations, visualizations, calculations, models, and reports for professional review.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
Outputs supplement accepted interpretation or planning methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, patient population, and version limits apply.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K251763
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Kidneys and other patient-specific surgical anatomy
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2025-12-16
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
On-premise
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified imaging professionals and physicians trained for the represented anatomy and workflow should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs supplement accepted interpretation or planning methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, patient population, and version limits apply.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

No current vendor source was promoted for K251763; exact-release facts remain anchored to the FDA decision material.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K251763 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

Exact public integration details remain incomplete; establish and test the supported input, output, identity, routing, archive, and downtime contract locally.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally. No current vendor source was promoted for this submission.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Outputs supplement accepted interpretation or planning methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, patient population, and version limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs supplement accepted interpretation or planning methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, patient population, and version limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. No current vendor source was promoted for this submission.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
The exact FDA decision material describes DICOM MR and contrast-enhanced CT input, manual and machine-learning segmentation, kidney CT use for adults with axial slices no thicker than 3 mm, and non-diagnostic rendered output. MR use is manual where the exact package says so.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not a product-wide endpoint for this system or software function. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if one is later verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not a product-wide endpoint for this system or software function. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if one is later verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K251763 FDA evidence package for IRISeg

  • DesignFDA software substantial-equivalence decision with image import, segmentation, rendering, usability, and workflow verification
  • PopulationAdult contrast-enhanced axial kidney CT cases within the labeled slice-thickness limit plus labeled manual MR and surgical-planning workflows
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionIRISeg configuration described in K251763
  • IndependenceSponsor or vendor study

K251763

Manufacturer evidence submitted for the exact FDA decision. It is not independent clinical validation, and local technical, clinical, privacy, security, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
  • Public source
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K251763 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later, or adverse-event information.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
27Fields reviewed
12Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA 510(k) decision material K251763: IRISeg

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2025-12-16 - Accessed 2026-09-04

    Scope: identity, purpose, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, intendedUsers, careSetting, workflowRole, input, output, limitations, evidenceSummary

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  4. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  5. Medicare Coverage Database

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: coverage, codingContext

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

Research history

  1. K251763 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    human reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K253969

ADAS 3D

Adas3D Medical S.L.

ADAS 3D supports visualization and analysis of MR and CT images of the heart for individual patients with cardiovascular disease, including patients with myocardial scar from...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Heart; myocardial scar and cardiac structures
Decision
2026-06-29
FDA-cleared K261713

Synapse PACS (7.6.0)

FUJIFILM Healthcare Americas Corporation

Synapse PACS 7.6.0 provides medical-image management and processing, including measurements, regional segmentation, clinical calculations, structured reports, comparison, fusion,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
N/A
Decision
2026-06-18
FDA-cleared K252563

Neurophet SCALE PET

Neurophet., Inc.

Brain MRI/PET registration, segmentation and quantitative PET assessment

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-15