FDA-cleared profile

HipCheck

Stryker Corp.

HipCheck assists surgeons with quantitative measurements for femoroacetabular-impingement procedures by processing intraoperative static fluoroscopic images and superimposing virtual measurement tools for skeletally mature patients. HipMap FAI Analysis provides a patient-specific report for surgeon or radiologist preoperative decision-making with morphological measurements and visualizations of hip impingement and stability.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
HipCheck assists surgeons with quantitative measurements for femoroacetabular-impingement procedures by processing intraoperative static fluoroscopic images and superimposing virtual measurement tools for skeletally mature patients. HipMap FAI Analysis provides a patient-specific report for surgeon or radiologist preoperative decision-making with morphological measurements and visualizations of hip impingement and stability.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Surgeons, radiologists, and trained clinical staff.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Orthopedic surgical suites and preoperative hip-imaging workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Intraoperative femoroacetabular-impingement measurements and preoperative patient-specific hip analysis.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Intraoperative static fluoroscopic X-ray images and CT scans for the patient-specific HipMap report.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Virtual measurement overlays, alpha-angle measurements, three-dimensional analyses, surface reconstructions, annotated images, and patient-specific reports.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
Use is limited to skeletally mature patients and the labeled femoroacetabular-impingement workflow; measurements and reports support but do not replace surgeon or radiologist judgment.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K230045
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Hip; femoral head and neck; femoroacetabular impingement
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-09-29
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA package describes transfer of C-arm X-ray images, virtual measurement overlays, CT processing for HipMap, USB and Stryker eRequest inputs, and USB, Stryker Health Cloud, or eRequest outputs.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the interface boundary described in the exact FDA package; current local compatibility, routing, identity, archive, and downtime behavior still require acceptance testing.

Deployment and data flow
The FDA package describes HipCheck pre-installed on a compatible mobile touchscreen tablet and HipMap on a general-purpose computing platform or the HipCheck tablet; current hosting, service, availability, security, and local configuration remain unverified.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the release-level boundary described in the exact FDA package; current hosting, contracts, security, availability, upgrade path, and site configuration remain separate evidence.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only surgeons, radiologists, and trained clinical staff should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor K230045 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Use is limited to skeletally mature patients and the labeled femoroacetabular-impingement workflow; measurements and reports support but do not replace surgeon or radiologist judgment.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is buyer-facing monitoring guidance derived from the exact cleared or authorized scope; it is not a claim that the FDA package provides a live monitoring service.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K230045 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared or authorized release includes them.

Deployment boundary

The FDA package describes HipCheck pre-installed on a compatible mobile touchscreen tablet and HipMap on a general-purpose computing platform or the HipCheck tablet; current hosting, service, availability, security, and local configuration remain unverified.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

FDA-described deployment boundaries do not establish current hosting contracts, security controls, uptime, or local qualification.

Interoperability acceptance

The FDA package describes transfer of C-arm X-ray images, virtual measurement overlays, CT processing for HipMap, USB and Stryker eRequest inputs, and USB, Stryker Health Cloud, or eRequest outputs.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Use is limited to skeletally mature patients and the labeled femoroacetabular-impingement workflow; measurements and reports support but do not replace surgeon or radiologist judgment.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor K230045 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Use is limited to skeletally mature patients and the labeled femoroacetabular-impingement workflow; measurements and reports support but do not replace surgeon or radiologist judgment.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. hip arthroscopy image-measurement and planning software limits remain submission-specific.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K230045 FDA decision material identifies the exact hip arthroscopy image-measurement and planning software, labeled use, and submission-specific verification or approval evidence. It does not establish product-wide sensitivity, specificity, outcomes, or independent clinical validation beyond the exact evidence summarized here.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K230045 FDA evidence package for HipCheck

FDA 510(k) bench, software, mechanical, electrical, simulated-use, and design-validation testing. · Hip; femoral head and neck; femoroacetabular impingement

exact submission · Tested version: HipCheck version 1.5.6 and HipMap FAI Analysis configuration described in K230045 · Sponsor or vendor study

K230045

The FDA summary states that no human clinical testing was conducted to determine safety and effectiveness for this submission; simulated-use testing involved surgeon and sales-representative users.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared or authorized configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging or clinical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

This is not a product-specific reimbursement determination. Build a local total-cost and value model and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K230045 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later-version, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
26Fields reviewed
11Source classes checked
2Reviewed PubMed leads
1Reviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Two PubMed records and one trial record name the HipCheck platform, but none reports HipCheck version 1.5.6 or otherwise links the tested software to K230045; all three records are quarantined and none is promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 2 PubMed and 1 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, fda pma record, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K253969

ADAS 3D

Adas3D Medical S.L.

ADAS 3D supports visualization and analysis of MR and CT images of the heart for individual patients with cardiovascular disease, including patients with myocardial scar from...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Heart; myocardial scar and cardiac structures
Decision
2026-06-29
FDA-cleared K261713

Synapse PACS (7.6.0)

FUJIFILM Healthcare Americas Corporation

Synapse PACS 7.6.0 provides medical-image management and processing, including measurements, regional segmentation, clinical calculations, structured reports, comparison, fusion,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
N/A
Decision
2026-06-18
FDA-cleared K252563

Neurophet SCALE PET

Neurophet., Inc.

Brain MRI/PET registration, segmentation and quantitative PET assessment

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-15