FDA-cleared profile

D2P

3D Systems, Inc.

D2P is a software interface and image-segmentation system for transferring DICOM imaging information from a medical scanner to an output file and is also preoperative software for surgical planning. The output may be used to produce a physical replica for adjunctive use with other diagnostic tools and expert clinical judgment in cardiovascular, craniofacial, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, neurological, and musculoskeletal applications.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
D2P is a software interface and image-segmentation system for transferring DICOM imaging information from a medical scanner to an output file and is also preoperative software for surgical planning. The output may be used to produce a physical replica for adjunctive use with other diagnostic tools and expert clinical judgment in cardiovascular, craniofacial, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, neurological, and musculoskeletal applications.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Surgeons, radiologists, and other trained healthcare professionals.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Preoperative planning, medical-image review, and qualified 3D-printing workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
DICOM visualization, segmentation, editing, output-file generation, and adjunctive surgical planning.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
DICOM imaging information from a medical scanner and user-edited segmentation inputs.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Segmented output files, 3D visualizations, physical anatomic replicas, and non-diagnostic VR views.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
Physical replicas are adjunctive and require other diagnostic tools and expert clinical judgment; application, printer, material, anatomy, and output-validation limits apply.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K183489
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Cardiovascular, craniofacial, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, neurological, and musculoskeletal anatomy
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2019-08-29
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA package describes DICOM viewing and analysis, automated segmentation, editing and pre-printing, integration with 3D Systems printers and software packages, and virtual-reality visualization for non-diagnostic use.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the interface boundary described in the exact FDA package; current local compatibility, routing, identity, archive, and downtime behavior still require acceptance testing.

Deployment and data flow
The FDA package describes a stand-alone modular software package with output to qualified 3D-printing technologies and materials; current hosting, hardware, printer, service, security, and local configuration remain unverified.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the release-level boundary described in the exact FDA package; current hosting, contracts, security, availability, upgrade path, and site configuration remain separate evidence.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only surgeons, radiologists, and other trained healthcare professionals should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor K183489 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Physical replicas are adjunctive and require other diagnostic tools and expert clinical judgment; application, printer, material, anatomy, and output-validation limits apply.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is buyer-facing monitoring guidance derived from the exact cleared or authorized scope; it is not a claim that the FDA package provides a live monitoring service.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K183489 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared or authorized release includes them.

Deployment boundary

The FDA package describes a stand-alone modular software package with output to qualified 3D-printing technologies and materials; current hosting, hardware, printer, service, security, and local configuration remain unverified.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

FDA-described deployment boundaries do not establish current hosting contracts, security controls, uptime, or local qualification.

Interoperability acceptance

The FDA package describes DICOM viewing and analysis, automated segmentation, editing and pre-printing, integration with 3D Systems printers and software packages, and virtual-reality visualization for non-diagnostic use.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Physical replicas are adjunctive and require other diagnostic tools and expert clinical judgment; application, printer, material, anatomy, and output-validation limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor K183489 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Physical replicas are adjunctive and require other diagnostic tools and expert clinical judgment; application, printer, material, anatomy, and output-validation limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. DICOM image-segmentation and surgical-planning software limits remain submission-specific.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K183489 FDA decision material identifies the exact DICOM image-segmentation and surgical-planning software, labeled use, and submission-specific verification or approval evidence. It does not establish product-wide sensitivity, specificity, outcomes, or independent clinical validation beyond the exact evidence summarized here.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K183489 FDA evidence package for D2P

FDA 510(k) bench and substantial-equivalence evidence for DICOM transfer, visualization, segmentation, and physical-model output. · Cardiovascular, craniofacial, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, neurological, and musculoskeletal anatomy

exact submission · Tested version: D2P Software configuration described in K183489 · Sponsor or vendor study

K183489

Physical replicas are adjunctive and remain subject to expert clinical judgment and local output validation.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared or authorized configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging or clinical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

This is not a product-specific reimbursement determination. Build a local total-cost and value model and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K183489 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later-version, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
26Fields reviewed
12Source classes checked
20Reviewed PubMed leads
2Reviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Twenty PubMed records and two trial records were screened. Two publications evaluate DICOM to PRINT or D2P segmentation without a tested version or K183489 linkage; the remaining records use D2P for unrelated terms, so all 22 records are quarantined. The current discovery snapshot contains 20 PubMed and 2 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda decision material, fda pma record, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K253969

ADAS 3D

Adas3D Medical S.L.

ADAS 3D supports visualization and analysis of MR and CT images of the heart for individual patients with cardiovascular disease, including patients with myocardial scar from...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Heart; myocardial scar and cardiac structures
Decision
2026-06-29
FDA-cleared K261713

Synapse PACS (7.6.0)

FUJIFILM Healthcare Americas Corporation

Synapse PACS 7.6.0 provides medical-image management and processing, including measurements, regional segmentation, clinical calculations, structured reports, comparison, fusion,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
N/A
Decision
2026-06-18
FDA-cleared K252563

Neurophet SCALE PET

Neurophet., Inc.

Brain MRI/PET registration, segmentation and quantitative PET assessment

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-15