FDA-cleared profile

VersaViewer

GE Medical Systems SCS

VersaViewer supports two-dimensional, three-dimensional, and four-dimensional medical-image series processing and analysis through customizable layouts, multimodality review, and measurements for trained healthcare professionals; it is not for displaying digital mammography for diagnosis.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
VersaViewer supports two-dimensional, three-dimensional, and four-dimensional medical-image series processing and analysis through customizable layouts, multimodality review, and measurements for trained healthcare professionals; it is not for displaying digital mammography for diagnosis.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Radiologists, physicians, technologists, and other trained healthcare professionals authorized for the labeled workflow.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Healthcare institutions, radiology departments, clinics, and clinical workstations within the exact submission scope.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Medical-image viewing, manipulation, measurement, quantification, segmentation, comparison, or reporting support.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Supported DICOM or other exact-submission image and study objects from the labeled modalities and workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Displayed image series, reformats, measurements, annotations, segmentations, comparisons, or reports for professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
Modality, study type, display, timing, mobile, diagnostic, and feature-license limits are release-specific; final decisions remain with qualified professionals.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K243651
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Multi-region anatomy represented in CT, MR, PET, NM, XA, and other supported studies
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2025-04-21
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
On-premise
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only radiologists, physicians, technologists, and other trained healthcare professionals authorized for the labeled workflow should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

The exact FDA decision and checked recall snapshot do not establish a complete local postmarket monitoring protocol. Track version, population, anatomy, protocol, input quality, edits, failures, repeats, downstream effects, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates locally.

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K243651 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

Exact public integration details remain incomplete; establish and test the supported input, output, identity, routing, archive, report, and downtime contract locally.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the exact labeled population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Modality, study type, display, timing, mobile, diagnostic, and feature-license limits are release-specific; final decisions remain with qualified professionals.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. No exact native-submission recall record was found in the checked snapshot; this does not exclude other product-family or later signals.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
The exact FDA 510(k) decision material establishes the submission identity, labeled use, inputs, population, and configuration boundary summarized here. No product-wide clinical-performance or outcome claim is promoted without an exact endpoint and version linkage.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No exact submission-linked sensitivity endpoint with a verified population, threshold, tested version, and source was promoted.

Reported specificity
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No exact submission-linked specificity endpoint with a verified population, threshold, tested version, and source was promoted.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K243651 FDA evidence package for VersaViewer

FDA 510(k) decision evidence package reviewed for exact submission identity and labeled scope · Labeled population and configuration described in the K243651 FDA decision material

exact submission · Tested version: VersaViewer configuration described in K243651 · Sponsor or vendor study

K243651

Manufacturer evidence submitted for the exact FDA decision. It is not independent clinical validation, and local technical, clinical, privacy, security, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating license or hardware basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K243651 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
26Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Unreviewed PubMed leads
0Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Exact-name and exact-submission searches in the checked 2026-09-01 indexes returned no PubMed records and no ClinicalTrials.gov records for K243651; review status is candidate_review_pending. Any candidate literature or registry record remains quarantined as product-family evidence unless exact submission and version linkage is established. The checked openFDA snapshot has 0 exact native-submission recall records. Pricing, complete security architecture, contracted deployment, exact reimbursement, and local interoperability remain unverified. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K222174

RadioLens v1.0

Synapsica

RadioLens v1.0 is a medical diagnostic application for displaying, processing, storing, and transferring DICOM data other than mammography, with filtering, digital manipulation,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine, including cervical and lumbar vertebrae; general DICOM images excluding mammography
Decision
2023-03-28
FDA-cleared K222428

Syngo Dynamics (Version VA40F)

Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.

Syngo Dynamics VA40F is a multimodality, vendor-agnostic cardiology image and information system for medical-image management and processing, with post-processing functions for...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Anatomy represented in multimodality cardiology medical images, excluding U.S. digital mammography diagnosis
Decision
2022-11-14
FDA-cleared K203103

Synapse 3D, Synapse 3D Base Tools v6.1

Fujifilm Corporation

Synapse 3D Base Tools is medical-imaging software that provides trained medical professionals tools to aid reading, interpreting, reporting, and treatment planning. It accepts...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Patient anatomy represented in supported DICOM CT, MR, CR, US, NM, PT, and XA images; mammography excluded
Decision
2021-02-09
FDA-cleared K173588

Illumeo System

Philips Medical Systems Technologies, Ltd.

Illumeo is an image-management system for trained professionals, including radiologists. It is a software package used with general-purpose computing hardware to acquire, store,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Images and associated data represented in the clinical environment; mammography excluded
Decision
2018-01-12