FDA-cleared profile

Synapse 3D, Synapse 3D Base Tools v6.1

Fujifilm Corporation

Synapse 3D Base Tools is medical-imaging software that provides trained medical professionals tools to aid reading, interpreting, reporting, and treatment planning. It accepts DICOM images from imaging devices including CT, MR, CR, US, NM, PT, and XA, and provides viewing, volume rendering, multiplanar reconstruction, fusion, subtraction, segmentation, measurements, annotations, reporting, image management, and modality-specific CT and MR tools. It is not intended for primary diagnostic interpretation of mammography images.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Synapse 3D Base Tools is medical-imaging software that provides trained medical professionals tools to aid reading, interpreting, reporting, and treatment planning. It accepts DICOM images from imaging devices including CT, MR, CR, US, NM, PT, and XA, and provides viewing, volume rendering, multiplanar reconstruction, fusion, subtraction, segmentation, measurements, annotations, reporting, image management, and modality-specific CT and MR tools. It is not intended for primary diagnostic interpretation of mammography images.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Trained physicians, radiologists, technologists, and other medical-image professionals.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Clinical image-review and post-processing environments within the labeled workflow.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Multimodality image viewing, processing, analysis, measurement, comparison, and reporting under professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Supported DICOM CT, MR, PET, SPECT, X-ray, ultrasound, or other labeled medical-image inputs.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Multimodality images, fused views, quantitative results, contours, measurements, and reports for professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
The exact labeling excludes use with or primary diagnostic interpretation of mammography images; supported modality-specific tools and downstream decisions require professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K203103
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Patient anatomy represented in supported DICOM CT, MR, CR, US, NM, PT, and XA images; mammography excluded
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2021-02-09
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
On-premise
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only trained physicians, radiologists, technologists, and other medical-image professionals should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor K203103 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: The exact labeling excludes use with or primary diagnostic interpretation of mammography images; supported modality-specific tools and downstream decisions require professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is buyer-facing monitoring guidance derived from the exact cleared scope; it is not a claim that the FDA package provides a live monitoring service.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K203103 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared or authorized release includes them.

Deployment boundary

The exact public deployment topology remains incomplete; establish hosting responsibility, data flow, availability, upgrade, service, and downtime boundaries locally.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

FDA-described topology does not establish current hosting contracts, security controls, uptime, or local qualification.

Interoperability acceptance

The exact public integration contract remains incomplete; establish and test supported input, output, identity, routing, archive, and downtime behavior locally.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. The exact labeling excludes use with or primary diagnostic interpretation of mammography images; supported modality-specific tools and downstream decisions require professional review.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price or reimbursement determination was promoted.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor K203103 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: The exact labeling excludes use with or primary diagnostic interpretation of mammography images; supported modality-specific tools and downstream decisions require professional review.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K203103 FDA decision material identifies the exact cleared or authorized product, intended use, labeled anatomy and modality, and submission-specific verification. It does not by itself establish product-wide sensitivity, specificity, outcomes, reimbursement, or independent clinical validation for this exact configuration.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K203103 FDA decision evidence package for Synapse 3D, Synapse 3D Base Tools v6.1

FDA decision evidence and product verification described in the exact submission or PMA decision record. · Patient anatomy represented in supported DICOM CT, MR, CR, US, NM, PT, and XA images; mammography excluded

exact submission · Tested version: Synapse 3D, Synapse 3D Base Tools v6.1 configuration described in K203103 · Sponsor or vendor study

K203103

FDA decision material is manufacturer-submitted regulatory evidence. It is not independent clinical validation unless the exact source expressly establishes that distinction; local technical, clinical, privacy, security, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared or authorized configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating license or hardware basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product reimbursement determination was promoted in this timeboxed review. Verify payer, site-of-service, coding, coverage, and local payment assumptions independently.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K203103 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later-version, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
26Fields reviewed
7Source classes checked
0Unreviewed PubMed leads
0Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Scope was limited to exact FDA decision material and exact-submission recall disposition already present in the checked snapshot. Optional literature, vendor, pricing, and deployment research was not promoted. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K243651

VersaViewer

GE Medical Systems SCS

VersaViewer supports two-dimensional, three-dimensional, and four-dimensional medical-image series processing and analysis through customizable layouts, multimodality review, and...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Multi-region anatomy represented in CT, MR, PET, NM, XA, and other supported studies
Decision
2025-04-21
FDA-cleared K222174

RadioLens v1.0

Synapsica

RadioLens v1.0 is a medical diagnostic application for displaying, processing, storing, and transferring DICOM data other than mammography, with filtering, digital manipulation,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine, including cervical and lumbar vertebrae; general DICOM images excluding mammography
Decision
2023-03-28
FDA-cleared K222428

Syngo Dynamics (Version VA40F)

Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.

Syngo Dynamics VA40F is a multimodality, vendor-agnostic cardiology image and information system for medical-image management and processing, with post-processing functions for...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Anatomy represented in multimodality cardiology medical images, excluding U.S. digital mammography diagnosis
Decision
2022-11-14
FDA-cleared K173588

Illumeo System

Philips Medical Systems Technologies, Ltd.

Illumeo is an image-management system for trained professionals, including radiologists. It is a software package used with general-purpose computing hardware to acquire, store,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Images and associated data represented in the clinical environment; mammography excluded
Decision
2018-01-12