FDA-cleared profile

UNiD™ Spine Analyzer

Medicrea International S.A.S. (Medtronic)

UNiD Spine Analyzer assists healthcare professionals in viewing and measuring images and planning orthopedic spine surgery, including preoperative and postoperative measurements, surgical-strategy simulation, and patient-specific or standard implant planning; clinical judgment and surgeon validation remain required.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
UNiD Spine Analyzer assists healthcare professionals in viewing and measuring images and planning orthopedic spine surgery, including preoperative and postoperative measurements, surgical-strategy simulation, and patient-specific or standard implant planning; clinical judgment and surgeon validation remain required.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Orthopedic spine surgeons and other trained healthcare professionals involved in spine-surgery planning.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Preoperative and postoperative spine-planning workflows in orthopedic healthcare settings.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Measures spine images, simulates surgical strategy, estimates compensatory effects, and supports surgeon review before implant manufacture.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Patient images uploaded to the web application in JPEG, PNG, or GIF format, with user-entered or selected planning information as described in the FDA comparison table.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Spine measurements, simulated surgical plans, patient-specific rod or standard-implant planning information, compensatory-effect estimates, and image or ZIP exports to the Medtronic HUB.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
The exact FDA material requires clinical judgment and surgeon validation before implant manufacture; the AI models and web workflow are version-specific, and the FDA submission used separate training and testing cases without clinical testing for the submission.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K251629
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Spine
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2025-08-07
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA material describes a standalone or connected web application with image upload and export of images or ZIP files to the Medtronic HUB.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the interface boundary described in the exact FDA decision material; current local compatibility, routing, identity, archive, and downtime behavior still require acceptance testing.

Deployment and data flow
The FDA comparison table describes a cloud-based application hosted on AWS and a standalone or connected mode; current hosting, contracts, security, retention, availability, and local configuration remain unverified.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the release-level boundary described in the exact FDA decision material; current hosting, contracts, security, availability, upgrade path, and site configuration remain separate evidence.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only Orthopedic spine surgeons and other trained healthcare professionals involved in spine-surgery planning should operate or interpret the product; local onboarding must cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor K251629 by exact hardware, software, model, algorithm version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track these product-specific limits: The exact FDA material requires clinical judgment and surgeon validation before implant manufacture; the AI models and web workflow are version-specific, and the FDA submission used separate training and testing cases without clinical testing for the submission.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Buyer-facing monitoring guidance derived from the exact cleared scope; it is not a claim that the FDA package provides a live monitoring service.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K251629 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Deployment boundary

The FDA comparison table describes a cloud-based application hosted on AWS and a standalone or connected mode; current hosting, contracts, security, retention, availability, and local configuration remain unverified.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

FDA-described deployment boundaries do not establish current hosting contracts, security controls, uptime, or local qualification.

Interoperability acceptance

The FDA material describes a standalone or connected web application with image upload and export of images or ZIP files to the Medtronic HUB.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. The exact FDA material requires clinical judgment and surgeon validation before implant manufacture; the AI models and web workflow are version-specific, and the FDA submission used separate training and testing cases without clinical testing for the submission.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor K251629 by exact hardware, software, model, algorithm version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K251629 FDA material describes a version 5.0.0 performance evaluation using 1,050 patient surgery cases from U.S. sites, with 776 training and 274 testing cases, and a non-inferiority design; it states that no clinical testing was used for the submission.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if later verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if later verified.

Performance-evaluation case count

1050 patient surgery cases

Total cases in FDA evaluation in Spine-surgery cases from U.S. sites.

Tested version: UNiD Spine Analyzer version 5.0.0 configuration described in K251629

Training partition

776 cases

Training partition size in Spine-surgery cases used in development.

Tested version: UNiD Spine Analyzer version 5.0.0 configuration described in K251629

Testing partition

274 cases

Testing partition size in Spine-surgery cases held out for evaluation.

Tested version: UNiD Spine Analyzer version 5.0.0 configuration described in K251629

K251629 FDA evidence package for UNiD™ Spine Analyzer

FDA 510(k) non-inferiority performance evaluation with separate training and testing cases and ground truth from trained Medtronic measurement technicians. · 1,050 patient spine-surgery cases from U.S. sites; 776 training cases and 274 testing cases.

exact submission · Tested version: UNiD Spine Analyzer version 5.0.0 configuration described in K251629 · n=1050 · Sponsor or vendor study

K251629

The FDA summary describes cybersecurity testing and non-inferiority planning but no clinical testing for the submission.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging or clinical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

This is not a product-specific reimbursement determination. Verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K251629 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later-version, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
32Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Reviewed PubMed leads
0Reviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates for K251629; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K261289

UNiD™ Spine Analyzer (SW3002)

Medicrea International S.A.S. (Medtronic)

UNiD Spine Analyzer SW3002 v5.1.0 enables healthcare professionals to view and measure images and plan orthopedic spine surgeries, including preoperative and postoperative...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine
Decision
2026-05-15
FDA-cleared K251059

Syngo Carbon Clinicals (VA41)

Siemens Healthineers AG

Syngo Carbon Clinicals VA41 provides advanced visualization and analysis for clinical images, including OrthoMatic Spine whole-spine curve-angle measurements and TimeLens...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Whole spine and other clinical image regions represented in supported CT and MR workflows
Decision
2025-10-24
FDA-cleared K243647

Synapse PACS (7.5)

FUJIFILM Healthcare Americas Corporation

Synapse PACS version 7.5 provides primary processing and presentation of DICOM and supported non-DICOM images with measurement, segmentation, fusion, volume rendering, reporting,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Multi-region
Decision
2025-06-30
FDA-cleared K231955

aprevo® Digital Segmentation

Carlsmed, Inc.

aprevo Digital Segmentation is software for trained, medically knowledgeable design personnel to perform digital image segmentation of the spine, primarily lumbar anatomy; it...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine, primarily lumbar anatomy
Decision
2023-11-03