FDA-cleared profile

aprevo® Digital Segmentation

Carlsmed, Inc.

aprevo Digital Segmentation is software for trained, medically knowledgeable design personnel to perform digital image segmentation of the spine, primarily lumbar anatomy; it inputs DICOM images and outputs a three-dimensional spine model.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
aprevo Digital Segmentation is software for trained, medically knowledgeable design personnel to perform digital image segmentation of the spine, primarily lumbar anatomy; it inputs DICOM images and outputs a three-dimensional spine model.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Trained healthcare professionals, physicians, technicians, surgeons, or other users specified by the exact submission.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Healthcare institution, clinical image-review, surgical-planning, or other labeled environment.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Medical-image viewing, processing, segmentation, measurement, registration, communication, or planning support within the exact labeled scope.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
DICOM or other medical-image data from the exact labeled modalities, scanners, and user workflow.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Images, measurements, segmentations, models, reports, or planning information for professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
Supported modalities, modules, anatomy, patient population, and output use are submission-specific; source images and generated results require expert review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K231955
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Spine, primarily lumbar anatomy
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-11-03
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The exact FDA indication establishes DICOM input and a three-dimensional output; local import, export, identity, review, and downstream planning or fabrication workflow require confirmation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Deployment and data flow
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact deployment topology, hosting, network boundaries, PHI flow, retention, update mechanism, and local operational requirements are not established for this submission.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public sources reviewed here do not establish the complete exact-release security posture, including identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote access, vulnerability management, backup, or incident response.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Training, onboarding, competency, and support commitments are commercial implementation details that require current vendor documentation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Local acceptance testing, production monitoring, drift review, update control, and incident escalation require a current vendor and site-specific governance plan.

Workflow role

Medical-image viewing, processing, segmentation, measurement, registration, communication, or planning support within the exact labeled scope.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Submission-anchored workflow summary, not a local acceptance or deployment result.

Input

DICOM or other medical-image data from the exact labeled modalities, scanners, and user workflow.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Exact supported inputs and protocol limits must be confirmed from the complete labeling.

Output

Images, measurements, segmentations, models, reports, or planning information for professional review.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Output review, editing, approval, export, and downstream use remain release- and site-specific.

Deployment evidence

Exact deployment topology and operational boundaries remain unestablished.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Confirm hosting, PHI flow, retention, access, updates, downtime, and support obligations before procurement or clinical use.

Integration evidence

The exact FDA indication establishes DICOM input and a three-dimensional output; local import, export, identity, review, and downstream planning or fabrication workflow require confirmation.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Validate the local workflow against the exact release and enabled options.

Vendor family context

Current vendor material is product-family context for K231955 only; exact release, enabled options, deployment, security, interoperability, pricing, and local workflow require confirmation.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

Vendor material is not exact-release evidence unless that linkage is separately proven.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
The exact FDA decision material for K231955 supports the submission-specific intended use and regulatory verification summarized here; it does not establish a general product-wide sensitivity or specificity value.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
90%
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Values reported in the exact-submission materials. Consult the linked source for endpoint, threshold, population, and confidence interval before comparison.

Reported specificity
90%
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Values reported in the exact-submission materials. Consult the linked source for endpoint, threshold, population, and confidence interval before comparison.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

FDA submission-specific verification and validation evidence for K231955

FDA 510(k) regulatory decision material and submission-specific verification or validation evidence for K231955; this is regulatory evidence, not an independent clinical effectiveness study. · The labeled population, anatomy, images, and test materials described in the exact FDA decision material for K231955; a broader clinical population is not established here.

exact submission · Tested version: aprevo® Digital Segmentation (K231955) · Sponsor or vendor study

K231955

The exact FDA material is submission-specific and should not be generalized to other versions, enabled options, sites, protocols, or clinical outcomes.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public exact-release price, license fee, subscription, contract, or implementation cost was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

CMS coverage-index context was checked, but no product-specific coverage or reimbursement determination is inferred.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No native submission-identifier match was found in the checked openFDA radiology recall snapshot. Product-name, manufacturer, and adverse-event searches remain necessary; this does not establish that no recall or safety report exists.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
30Fields reviewed
11Source classes checked
0Unreviewed PubMed leads
0Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Exact-name and exact-submission searches in the checked 2026-09-01 literature and trial indexes returned no PubMed candidate records and no ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records for K231955; the checked openFDA snapshot returned no recall candidate records. Candidate records remain quarantined unless exact product and version linkage is established. Current vendor material is product-family context only. Pricing, complete security architecture, contracted deployment, exact reimbursement, and local interoperability remain unverified. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, vendor product page, implementation documentation, reimbursement policy, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K261289

UNiD™ Spine Analyzer (SW3002)

Medicrea International S.A.S. (Medtronic)

UNiD Spine Analyzer SW3002 v5.1.0 enables healthcare professionals to view and measure images and plan orthopedic spine surgeries, including preoperative and postoperative...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine
Decision
2026-05-15
FDA-cleared K251059

Syngo Carbon Clinicals (VA41)

Siemens Healthineers AG

Syngo Carbon Clinicals VA41 provides advanced visualization and analysis for clinical images, including OrthoMatic Spine whole-spine curve-angle measurements and TimeLens...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Whole spine and other clinical image regions represented in supported CT and MR workflows
Decision
2025-10-24
FDA-cleared K251629

UNiD™ Spine Analyzer

Medicrea International S.A.S. (Medtronic)

UNiD Spine Analyzer assists healthcare professionals in viewing and measuring images and planning orthopedic spine surgery, including preoperative and postoperative measurements,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine
Decision
2025-08-07
FDA-cleared K243647

Synapse PACS (7.5)

FUJIFILM Healthcare Americas Corporation

Synapse PACS version 7.5 provides primary processing and presentation of DICOM and supported non-DICOM images with measurement, segmentation, fusion, volume rendering, reporting,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Multi-region
Decision
2025-06-30