FDA-cleared profile

SIS System

Surgical Information Sciences, Inc.

Software fuses clinical MRI with postoperative CT to visualize DBS anatomy, localize STN, GPe, GPi, and Vim, and segment implanted leads for surgical review.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Software fuses clinical MRI with postoperative CT to visualize DBS anatomy, localize STN, GPe, GPi, and Vim, and segment implanted leads for surgical review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Intended users
Qualified radiologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and trained imaging or surgical staff.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Care setting and population
Hospital neuroimaging, stroke, or neurosurgical planning workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Brain-image registration, segmentation, quantification, visualization, or procedure-planning support.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
Supported brain CT or MR images and associated clinical workflow data.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Output and human action
Registered images, segmentations, measurements, maps, alerts, or planning visualizations for professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Limitations
Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K241083
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Anatomy
Brain
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2024-06-14
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM import and output to PACS, workstations, or surgical systems; validate series selection, orientation, registration, measurements, routing, latency, and failure handling.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Deployment and data flow
Software workstation, server, virtual appliance, or connected clinical application using the cleared release.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified radiologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and trained imaging or surgical staff. should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, and outputs to K241083 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM import and output to PACS, workstations, or surgical systems; validate series selection, orientation, registration, measurements, routing, latency, and failure handling.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K241083 reports manufacturer registration, localization, segmentation, and software validation for the expanded Vim workflow.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K241083 FDA performance package for SIS System

Manufacturer software, registration, segmentation, and localization validation · DBS planning and postoperative review using brain MRI and CT

exact submission · Tested version: SIS System release adding Vim localization · Sponsor or vendor study

K241083

Manufacturer evidence submitted for clearance or approval; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, enabled features, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K241083 by exact submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family or later safety information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
24Fields reviewed
8Source classes checked
10Unreviewed PubMed leads
5Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Exact FDA materials, available current product-family sources, reimbursement context, and exact-identifier postmarket results were reviewed. Pricing, contracted services, enabled options, final security architecture, and local interoperability remain organization-specific evidence. Automated exact-name discovery found 10 PubMed and 5 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-02.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K252563

Neurophet SCALE PET

Neurophet., Inc.

Brain MRI/PET registration, segmentation and quantitative PET assessment

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-15
FDA-cleared K252496

Neurophet AQUA AD Plus

Neurophet., Inc.

Quantitative brain MRI and amyloid-PET analysis, including volumetric reference-percentile comparison and SUVR quantification, to support physician clinical evaluation.

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-01-29
FDA-cleared K230977

SIS System

Surgical Information Sciences, Inc.

SIS System fuses clinical brain MRI with postoperative CT to visualize DBS anatomy, localize STN, GPe, and GPi, and segment implanted leads for professional review.

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2023-05-02