FDA-cleared profile

AI Platform (AIP001)

Exo Inc

Authorized purpose: Exo AI Platform AIP001 processes imported adult ultrasound DICOM images for lung A-line and B-line assessment and cardiac ejection-fraction measurement and reporting.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Exo AI Platform AIP001 processes imported adult ultrasound DICOM images for lung A-line and B-line assessment and cardiac ejection-fraction measurement and reporting.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Exo AI Platform AIP001 processes imported adult ultrasound DICOM images for lung A-line and B-line assessment and cardiac ejection-fraction measurement and reporting.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: K232501 reports independent test data from diverse sites and demographics: 125 lung subjects and 151 LVEF subjects. Overall LVEF ICC was 0.93 with RMSD 5.90; A-line kappa was 0.84 and B-line-count ICC was 0.97.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Exo AI Platform AIP001 processes imported adult ultrasound DICOM images for lung A-line and B-line assessment and cardiac ejection-fraction measurement and reporting.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled from the decision-summary packet.

Intended users
Qualified users and trained healthcare providers.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The packet names qualified users and trained healthcare providers, not the dossier's more specific professional role class.

Care setting and population
Hospital or outpatient imaging analysis and reporting environments.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Medical-image processing, measurement, quantification, visualization, and reporting support.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
Imported Digital Imaging and Communications in Medicine (DICOM) images from ultrasound scanners of a specific range.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The packet directly states imported DICOM ultrasound images and does not state release-specific user inputs.

Output and human action
Measurements, segmentations, visualizations, calculations, and reports for professional review.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Limitations
Patient management decisions should not be made solely on the results of the AI Platform analysis.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

This is the packet's direct use limitation; the dossier's source-image review requirement is not stated.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K232501
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Ultrasound
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Anatomy
Chest/Heart
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The packet's anatomical-sites table states Heart and Lungs; it does not use the dossier's Chest/Heart wording. Controlled directory display reconciled from exact FDA wording: Heart, Lungs. -> Chest/Heart.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-11-17
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM import and output to PACS, reporting, or downstream systems; validate identifiers, series selection, measurements, units, geometry, routing, and round trips.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Deployment and data flow
Software on a workstation, server, or supported virtual environment with release-specific licenses.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified imaging professionals and physicians trained for the represented anatomy and workflow. should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs supplement accepted interpretation methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, and version limits apply.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, and outputs to K232501 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM import and output to PACS, reporting, or downstream systems; validate identifiers, series selection, measurements, units, geometry, routing, and round trips.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Outputs supplement accepted interpretation methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, and version limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs supplement accepted interpretation methods and require review against source images; supported modality, anatomy, protocol, and version limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
K232501 reports independent test data from diverse sites and demographics: 125 lung subjects and 151 LVEF subjects. Overall LVEF ICC was 0.93 with RMSD 5.90; A-line kappa was 0.84 and B-line-count ICC was 0.97.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Overall LVEF agreement

0.93 ICC

  • EndpointAgreement with mean of three expert measurements
  • PopulationAI Platform (AIP001)
  • Tested versionExo AI Platform AIP001

Overall LVEF error

5.9 RMSD

  • EndpointDifference from expert reference
  • PopulationAI Platform (AIP001)
  • Tested versionExo AI Platform AIP001

A-line agreement

0.84 Cohen kappa

  • EndpointAgreement with expert consensus
  • PopulationAI Platform (AIP001)
  • Tested versionExo AI Platform AIP001

B-line count agreement

0.97 ICC

  • EndpointAgreement with mean expert count
  • PopulationAI Platform (AIP001)
  • Tested versionExo AI Platform AIP001

K232501 FDA performance package for AI Platform (AIP001)

  • DesignManufacturer multisite clinical performance validation separate from training data
  • PopulationAdults aged 20-96 with diverse BMI, ethnicity, equipment, sites, and cardiac or pulmonary confounders
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExo AI Platform AIP001
  • Samplen=276
  • IndependenceSponsor or vendor study

K232501

Manufacturer evidence submitted for clearance or approval; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, enabled features, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
  • Public source
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K232501 by exact submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family or later safety information.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
27Fields reviewed
13Source classes checked
20Screened PubMed leads
10Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains 20 PubMed and 10 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Discovery metadata alone does not establish exact tested-product, version, population, and endpoint applicability, so all candidates remain quarantined and none was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 20 PubMed and 10 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda decision material, vendor product page, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, fda decision summary packet, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K232501: AI Platform (AIP001)

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2023-11-17 - Accessed 2026-09-19

    Scope: purpose, modality, output, evidenceSummary, anatomy, intendedUsers, input, limitations, clinicalUse

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. AI Platform (AIP001) model card (K232501)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-07-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. Medicare Coverage Database

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: coverage, codingContext

  7. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  8. Exo ultrasound platform

    Exo - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: integration, deployment, monitoring, productFamilyContext

Research history

  1. K232501 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare