FDA-cleared profile

Viz HDS, Viz Volume Plus, Viz ICH+

Viz.ai, Inc.

Authorized purpose: Automatically label, visualize, and quantify segmentable brain structures on single-time-point non-contrast head CT, including intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and midline shift; output must be reviewed with the original images by a physician.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Automatically label, visualize, and quantify segmentable brain structures on single-time-point non-contrast head CT, including intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and midline shift; output must be reviewed with the original images by a physician.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Automatically label, visualize, and quantify segmentable brain structures on single-time-point non-contrast head CT, including intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and midline shift; output must be reviewed with the original images by a physician.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA K232363 reports clinical testing against ground truth established by trained radiologists. Upper 95% CI bounds for mean absolute error were below 7.5 mL for total intracranial hyperdensity volume, 3 mL for each lateral-ventricle volume, and 2 mm for midline-shift distance. Dice lower confidence bounds exceeded 70% for hyperdensities and both lateral ventricles, with stratification by site, demographics, slice thickness, scanner, protocol, and estimated quantity; the reviewed FDA text does not state the study sample size.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Automatically label, visualize, and quantify segmentable brain structures on single-time-point non-contrast head CT, including intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and midline shift; output must be reviewed with the original images by a physician.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Intended users
Physicians.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Care setting and population
Hospital radiology and PACS workflow; the FDA summary describes return to a hospital server or customer DICOM node but the indication does not restrict facility type.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Workflow role
Post-acquisition automatic labeling, segmentation, visualization, and quantification with cloud processing and return of reviewable results to PACS.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Required input
DICOM non-contrast head CT series acquired at a single time point from a compliant imaging device or modality.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Output and human action
DICOM summary and segmentation series: a summary slice with overlays and measurements, plus RGB segmentation overlays on the input series for intracranial hyperdensities and lateral ventricles with midline-shift information and volume measurements, returned with the original NCCT series to a preconfigured PACS.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Limitations
Single-time-point NCCT only and limited to the stated intracranial hyperdensity, lateral-ventricle, and midline-shift structures. The output should be reviewed with the original images by a physician; overlay colors are visual differentiators only and have no independent meaning. The reviewed FDA text does not state a sample size or establish diagnostic sensitivity, specificity, or a clinical outcome claim.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K232363
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
CT/CTA
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Anatomy
Brain (intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and midline shift)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2024-02-05
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Viz HDS is hosted on Viz.ai's cloud server, receives NCCT head scans, and returns DICOM summary and segmentation series to a customer-configured DICOM node such as PACS. Exact interfaces, versions, and local compatibility require confirmation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Deployment and data flow
On-cloud
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Input or output interoperability

DICOM is explicitly referenced in the described input, output, or workflow.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

The model card does not establish every supported DICOM object, transfer method, or local interface.

Result destination

PACS is explicitly referenced as a result destination.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm supported products, versions, routing behavior, and display requirements during local evaluation.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for Viz HDS, Viz Volume Plus, Viz ICH+; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-08

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA K232363 reports clinical testing against ground truth established by trained radiologists. Upper 95% CI bounds for mean absolute error were below 7.5 mL for total intracranial hyperdensity volume, 3 mL for each lateral-ventricle volume, and 2 mm for midline-shift distance. Dice lower confidence bounds exceeded 70% for hyperdensities and both lateral ventricles, with stratification by site, demographics, slice thickness, scanner, protocol, and estimated quantity; the reviewed FDA text does not state the study sample size.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Viz HDS, Viz Volume Plus, Viz ICH+ regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationPopulation described in the exact-submission ACR model card
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K232363
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K232363

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

No public price or quote for the exact K232363 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K232363. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
22Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K232363: Viz HDS, Viz Volume Plus, Viz ICH+

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2024-02-05 - Accessed 2026-09-08

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Viz HDS, Viz Volume Plus, Viz ICH+ model card (K232363)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, output, evidenceSummary, integration, anatomy, evidenceStudies, implementationCapabilities

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K232363

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-08

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K232363 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K211222

qER-Quant

Qure.ai Technologies

Automatic labeling, visualization, and quantification of segmentable brain structures from non-contrast head CT, including intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and...

Modality
CT/CTA
Anatomy
Brain; intracranial hyperdensities, lateral ventricles, and midline shift
Decision
2021-07-30