FDA-cleared profile

Videa Dental Assist

VideaHealth, Inc.

Authorized purpose: Identify and localize listed dental findings, historical treatments, and normal anatomy on bitewing, periapical, and panoramic intraoral radiographs for patients aged 3 years and older, with indication-specific age and view limits; suspect dental-finding indications are adjunctive and diagnostic use is limited to dentists.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Identify and localize listed dental findings, historical treatments, and normal anatomy on bitewing, periapical, and panoramic intraoral radiographs for patients aged 3 years and older, with indication-specific age and view limits; suspect dental-finding indications are adjunctive and diagnostic use is limited to dentists.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Identify and localize listed dental findings, historical treatments, and normal anatomy on bitewing, periapical, and panoramic intraoral radiographs for patients aged 3 years and older, with indication-specific age and view limits; suspect dental-finding indications are adjunctive and diagnostic use is limited to dentists.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA K232384 reports standalone testing on 1,445 radiographs from more than 35 US sites, ground-truthed by three US board-certified dentists across 17 sensor manufacturers, with all listed indications in scope. All historical-treatment and normal-anatomy indications met sensitivity/specificity criteria; all suspect dental findings met criteria except caries specificity, which still passed the clinical-study criteria. A separate clinical reader study used 378 radiographs from more than 25 US locations, 26 readers, and dentist labeling/adjudication; AFROC reader improvements included 4.3% for caries, 28.5% for attrition, and 11.5% for periapical radiolucency.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Identify and localize listed dental findings, historical treatments, and normal anatomy on bitewing, periapical, and panoramic intraoral radiographs for patients aged 3 years and older, with indication-specific age and view limits; suspect dental-finding indications are adjunctive and diagnostic use is limited to dentists.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Intended users
Trained dental professionals including dentists and dental hygienists; only dentists performing diagnostic activities should use suspect dental-finding indications.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Care setting and population
Dental-practice workflow; FDA testing covered more than 35 US sites, but the indication does not specify a facility type.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Workflow role
Adjunct detection and localization for dental image review and practice operations, with indication-specific outputs for diagnostic suspect findings, historical treatments, and normal anatomy.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Required input
Eligible bitewing, periapical, or panoramic intraoral radiographs from patients aged 3 years and older with primary, mixed, and/or permanent dentition, subject to indication-specific limits: some findings require age 12 or 22 and permanent dentition, and panoramic use is for historical-treatment and normal-anatomy indications.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Output and human action
For each indication, a binary present/absent result; when findings are present, the number by finding type and bounding-box coordinates, and when absent, a clear no-findings indication. Results cover all findings on one radiograph regardless of tooth count.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Limitations
Not a substitute for full patient evaluation or sole basis to make or confirm a diagnosis. Indication-specific gates apply: caries and many findings are tested on bitewing/periapical images from age 3, pulp stones require age 12 and permanent dentition, periapical radiolucency and furcation require age 22 and permanent dentition, and panoramic images are limited to the historical-treatment and normal-anatomy scopes. Historical-treatment and normal-anatomy outputs are not diagnostic aids. The FDA standalone study reports that caries specificity was the only suspect-finding specificity not to meet its standalone target, although the indication passed the clinical-study criteria.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K232384
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
X-ray/Radiography
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Anatomy
Dental/Maxillofacial (suspected findings, historical treatments, and normal anatomy)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-12-15
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Cloud-based Videa Dental Assist is accessed through an API behind a firewalled network and a dental image viewer; authenticated users upload eligible images and review returned bounding boxes and finding statuses. The FDA packet does not establish DICOM, PACS, RIS, EHR, or a specific production deployment.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Deployment and data flow
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

The reviewed sources do not establish the current exact-release hosting topology, data flow, region, tenancy, or disaster-recovery configuration.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for Videa Dental Assist; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-08

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA K232384 reports standalone testing on 1,445 radiographs from more than 35 US sites, ground-truthed by three US board-certified dentists across 17 sensor manufacturers, with all listed indications in scope. All historical-treatment and normal-anatomy indications met sensitivity/specificity criteria; all suspect dental findings met criteria except caries specificity, which still passed the clinical-study criteria. A separate clinical reader study used 378 radiographs from more than 25 US locations, 26 readers, and dentist labeling/adjudication; AFROC reader improvements included 4.3% for caries, 28.5% for attrition, and 11.5% for periapical radiolucency.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Videa Dental Assist regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-alone performance and reader study (ACR AI Central category)
  • PopulationAdult and Pediatric
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K232384
  • Samplen=1445
  • Sites35
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K232384

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

No public price or quote for the exact K232384 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K232384. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
21Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K232384: Videa Dental Assist

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2023-12-15 - Accessed 2026-09-08

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Videa Dental Assist model card (K232384)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K232384

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-08

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K232384 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K253172

MediAI-OA

Crescom Co., Ltd.

Assist trained professionals in assessing radiographic knee osteoarthritis and its sclerosis, joint-space-narrowing, and osteophyte features on standing fixed-flexion knee...

Modality
X-ray/Radiography
Anatomy
Knee joint
Decision
2026-06-15
FDA-cleared K253930

Overjet Iris Intelligent Imaging System

Overjet, Inc.

Overjet Iris is a web-based dental PACS for storing, viewing, and supporting image-quality review of two-dimensional intraoral radiographs, panoramic images, and color photographs.

Modality
X-ray/Radiography
Anatomy
Teeth and maxillofacial anatomy
Decision
2026-04-10
FDA-cleared K250525

Second Opinion® Panoramic

Pearl, Inc.

Second Opinion Panoramic is an automated image-processing aid that identifies and marks regions of interest for caries, periapical radiolucency, and impacted third molars on...

Modality
X-ray/Radiography
Anatomy
Permanent teeth; caries, periapical radiolucency, and impacted third molars
Decision
2025-11-14
FDA-cleared K251002

Videa Dental AI

VideaHealth Inc.

Analyzes bitewing, periapical, and panoramic intraoral radiographs from patients aged 3 years and older to identify and localize specified suspected dental findings, historical...

Modality
X-ray/Radiography
Anatomy
Dental/Maxillofacial
Decision
2025-09-19