Authorized purpose: Concurrent-read incidental detection of permanent teeth that may be associated with periapical radiolucencies in CBCT data acquired for other reasons.
Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.
Product overview
Start with the essentials
Authorized purpose: Concurrent-read incidental detection of permanent teeth that may be associated with periapical radiolucencies in CBCT data acquired for other reasons.
Overview status: Source-reviewed overview
What does this software do?Authorized purpose: Concurrent-read incidental detection of permanent teeth that may be associated with periapical radiolucencies in CBCT data acquired for other reasons.
Which images or clinical context are in scope?Modality: CBCT Anatomy or clinical context: Permanent teeth and periapical dental structures Input: Existing CBCT data from adult patients aged 22 years or older with permanent teeth; the data must already have been acquired for other reasons and is viewed through the dental image viewer.
Who uses it?Intended users: Trained and licensed dentists
What does the software produce?Output: A list of teeth that may potentially have periapical radiolucency and a corresponding PARL map; the dentist can confirm or reject each flagged tooth. Two operating points are available: Standard sensitivity and High sensitivity.
What is its most important limitation?Key limitation: Incidental use only on already-acquired CBCT; not a replacement for complete dentist review or clinical judgment and not an indication to obtain X-ray images. The FDA population is adults aged 22 years or older with permanent teeth.
Clinical takeaway
Clinical role: Concurrent-read incidental detection of permanent teeth that may be associated with periapical radiolucencies in CBCT data acquired for other reasons.
Evidence takeaway
Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA testing included standalone and fully crossed MRMC studies. The representative standalone study used 306 CBCTs; high-sensitivity operating-point results were sensitivity 0.78 (95% CI 0.74-0.81) and specificity 0.93 (0.92-0.94), while standard-sensitivity results were 0.66 (0.62-0.70) and 0.97 (0.97-0.98). The MRMC study used 11 US readers and reports unaided/aided model-based AUC 0.415/0.639, tooth-level sensitivity 0.421/0.649, and specificity 0.962/0.946. The FDA ground truth was a consensus reference for the standalone study and reader performance was evaluated separately.
Clinical details
What this tool is for
Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.
Exact purpose
Concurrent-read incidental detection of permanent teeth that may be associated with periapical radiolucencies in CBCT data acquired for other reasons.
Existing CBCT data from adult patients aged 22 years or older with permanent teeth; the data must already have been acquired for other reasons and is viewed through the dental image viewer.
A list of teeth that may potentially have periapical radiolucency and a corresponding PARL map; the dentist can confirm or reject each flagged tooth. Two operating points are available: Standard sensitivity and High sensitivity.
Incidental use only on already-acquired CBCT; not a replacement for complete dentist review or clinical judgment and not an indication to obtain X-ray images. The FDA population is adults aged 22 years or older with permanent teeth.
The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.
Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.
Integration
Cloud-based SaMD accessed by a dental practitioner through a dental image viewer, where CBCT images and device results are viewed together. The FDA packet does not specify PACS, RIS, EHR, or DICOM interface details.
The reviewed sources do not establish the current exact-release hosting topology, data flow, region, tenancy, or disaster-recovery configuration.
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-08
Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.
Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-08
Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.
Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-08
Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.
ACR exact-submission catalog context
ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for DS Core Detect; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.
Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.
Evidence summary
FDA testing included standalone and fully crossed MRMC studies. The representative standalone study used 306 CBCTs; high-sensitivity operating-point results were sensitivity 0.78 (95% CI 0.74-0.81) and specificity 0.93 (0.92-0.94), while standard-sensitivity results were 0.66 (0.62-0.70) and 0.97 (0.97-0.98). The MRMC study used 11 US readers and reports unaided/aided model-based AUC 0.415/0.639, tooth-level sensitivity 0.421/0.649, and specificity 0.962/0.946. The FDA ground truth was a consensus reference for the standalone study and reader performance was evaluated separately.
No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.
DS Core Detect regulatory performance study summary
DesignStand-alone performance and reader study (ACR AI Central category)
PopulationAdult
Scopeexact submission
Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K253009
IndependenceIndependence not established
K253009
ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.
These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.
Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-08
No public price or quote for the exact K253009 configuration was established in this review.
Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-08
No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.
Safety and lifecycle
Postmarket record
Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.
Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K253009. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
Verify deployment and data flow: The reviewed sources do not establish the current exact-release hosting topology, data flow, region, tenancy, or disaster-recovery configuration.
Verify security and privacy controls: Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.
Verify training: Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.
Verify pricing and total cost: No public price or quote for the exact K253009 configuration was established in this review.
Verify reimbursement and coding relevance: No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.
Verify local validation and lifecycle monitoring: Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.
This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.
Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
23Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads
The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.
Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.
Source classes: fda ai list, acr ai central product, fda decision summary, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall
Sources & history
How this profile was documented
Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.
View source ledger and history7 sources - 3 history items
Diagnocat is an automated concurrent-read aid for detecting periapical radiolucency on permanent teeth in previously acquired, clinically justified maxillofacial CBCT; it is a...
DS Core CBCT Anatomy uses CBCT and digital-impression data to provide tooth and jaw segmentation, inferior-alveolar-nerve-canal segmentation, panoramic-curve support, and...
Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Teeth; jaws; and the inferior alveolar nerve canal
CEPHX3D processes dental and craniomaxillofacial images to support diagnosis and treatment planning, including three-dimensional models, viewing, segmentation, measurements, and...