FDA-cleared profile

syngo Application Software

Siemens Medical Solutions, USA, Inc.

syngo Application Software provides real-time viewing, image manipulation, 3D visualization, communication, and storage of medical images and data on exchange media for diagnostic viewing, post-processing, and viewing or post-processing during interventional procedures. It may run on a stand-alone workstation, send and receive DICOM data over a network, be deployed on Siemens angiography systems, and be combined with fluoroscopy or radiographic systems for image-guided surgery and interventional cardiology, electrophysiology, oncology, radiology, and neuroradiology.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
syngo Application Software provides real-time viewing, image manipulation, 3D visualization, communication, and storage of medical images and data on exchange media for diagnostic viewing, post-processing, and viewing or post-processing during interventional procedures. It may run on a stand-alone workstation, send and receive DICOM data over a network, be deployed on Siemens angiography systems, and be combined with fluoroscopy or radiographic systems for image-guided surgery and interventional cardiology, electrophysiology, oncology, radiology, and neuroradiology.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Physicians and trained healthcare professionals responsible for diagnostic or interventional image review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Diagnostic imaging workstations, operating rooms, and interventional cardiology, radiology, oncology, or neuroradiology workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Real-time image viewing, manipulation, 3D visualization, communication, storage, and interventional image fusion or navigation support.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Medical images and data received from supported imaging systems, exchange media, and DICOM network connections.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Displayed, manipulated, post-processed, fused, communicated, and stored medical images and procedure-support information.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
Configured modalities, OEM options, procedures, hardware, and local workflow determine the available functions; the software does not replace qualified professional interpretation or procedural control.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K170747
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Anatomy represented in supported medical images and interventional procedures
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2017-06-09
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA package explicitly describes DICOM network send and receive, stand-alone diagnostic or reporting workstations, Siemens angiography systems, and combination with fluoroscopy or radiographic systems.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the interface boundary described in the exact FDA package; current local compatibility, routing, identity, archive, and downtime behavior still require acceptance testing.

Deployment and data flow
The FDA package describes stand-alone diagnostic review, post-processing, and reporting workstations; network configuration; Siemens angiography-system deployment; and combinations with fluoroscopy or radiographic systems. Current hosting, service, security, availability, and site configuration remain unverified.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the release-level boundary described in the exact FDA package; current hosting, contracts, security, availability, upgrade path, and site configuration remain separate evidence.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only physicians and trained healthcare professionals responsible for diagnostic or interventional image review should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor K170747 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Configured modalities, OEM options, procedures, hardware, and local workflow determine the available functions; the software does not replace qualified professional interpretation or procedural control.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is buyer-facing monitoring guidance derived from the exact cleared or authorized scope; it is not a claim that the FDA package provides a live monitoring service.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K170747 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared or authorized release includes them.

Deployment boundary

The FDA package describes stand-alone diagnostic review, post-processing, and reporting workstations; network configuration; Siemens angiography-system deployment; and combinations with fluoroscopy or radiographic systems. Current hosting, service, security, availability, and site configuration remain unverified.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

FDA-described deployment boundaries do not establish current hosting contracts, security controls, uptime, or local qualification.

Interoperability acceptance

The FDA package explicitly describes DICOM network send and receive, stand-alone diagnostic or reporting workstations, Siemens angiography systems, and combination with fluoroscopy or radiographic systems.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Configured modalities, OEM options, procedures, hardware, and local workflow determine the available functions; the software does not replace qualified professional interpretation or procedural control.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor K170747 by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Configured modalities, OEM options, procedures, hardware, and local workflow determine the available functions; the software does not replace qualified professional interpretation or procedural control.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. multimodality medical-image viewing and interventional post-processing software limits remain submission-specific.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K170747 FDA decision material identifies the exact multimodality medical-image viewing and interventional post-processing software, labeled use, and submission-specific verification or approval evidence. It does not establish product-wide sensitivity, specificity, outcomes, or independent clinical validation beyond the exact evidence summarized here.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, study design, and source if separately verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K170747 FDA evidence package for syngo Application Software

FDA 510(k) software validation, clinical-image review, and non-clinical substantial-equivalence evidence for the syngo Application Software configuration. · Anatomy represented in supported medical images and interventional procedures

exact submission · Tested version: syngo Application Software (VD20) configuration described in K170747 · Sponsor or vendor study

K170747

The broad multimodality and interventional scope is configuration-dependent; the FDA package does not establish every OEM option or procedure at every site.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared or authorized configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging or clinical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

This is not a product-specific reimbursement determination. Build a local total-cost and value model and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K170747 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later-version, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
26Fields reviewed
11Source classes checked
0Reviewed PubMed leads
1Reviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

One trial record was screened. It evaluates syngo DynaCT Sine Spin with an ARTIS icono system but does not identify the syngo Application Software VD20 configuration in K170747; the record is quarantined. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 1 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, fda pma record, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K253969

ADAS 3D

Adas3D Medical S.L.

ADAS 3D supports visualization and analysis of MR and CT images of the heart for individual patients with cardiovascular disease, including patients with myocardial scar from...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Heart; myocardial scar and cardiac structures
Decision
2026-06-29
FDA-cleared K252947

HistoSonics® Planning Tool

HistoSonics, Inc.

HistoSonics Planning Tool is a stand-alone visualization and comparison tool for CT and MR studies used to plan histotripsy target localization, treatment volume, acoustic path,...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Liver; kidneys; lungs; ribs; and skin
Decision
2026-05-29
FDA-cleared K252261

InferCare RECIST

Beijing Infervision Healthcare Medical Technology Co., Ltd.

InferCare RECIST is a post-processing application for longitudinal medical-image display, lesion measurement, registration, tracking, segmentation, three-dimensional...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Tumors and lesions in adult patients age 21 and older
Decision
2026-03-13