FDA-cleared profile

RayStation 12A

RaySearch Laboratories AB (publ)

RayStation 12A is configurable software for radiation therapy and medical oncology that proposes treatment plans from user input. Authorized users may use reviewed and approved plans to support treatment administration; the system includes image handling, contouring, treatment planning and optimization, dose calculation and evaluation, machine commissioning, treatment interfaces, and machine-learning segmentation or planning functions.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
RayStation 12A is configurable software for radiation therapy and medical oncology that proposes treatment plans from user input. Authorized users may use reviewed and approved plans to support treatment administration; the system includes image handling, contouring, treatment planning and optimization, dose calculation and evaluation, machine commissioning, treatment interfaces, and machine-learning segmentation or planning functions.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Intended users
Authorized, clinically qualified radiation therapy and medical oncology personnel with role-appropriate training; proposed plans require qualified-user review and approval before treatment use.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Care setting and population
Professional radiation oncology and medical oncology environments performing treatment planning, machine commissioning, plan review, and approved-plan transfer or treatment-management workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Workflow role
Imports patient imaging, supports registration and contouring, builds and optimizes treatment plans, calculates and evaluates dose, supports machine modeling and selected treatment interfaces, and exports reviewed and approved DICOM RT objects for downstream clinical use.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Required input
CT, PET, and MR images transferred through DICOM; patient geometry and structures; treatment-machine and beam-model data; prescriptions, clinical goals, optimization objectives, and other user-entered planning parameters.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Output and human action
Proposed and approved treatment plans, dose distributions, structures, images, reports, machine and setup parameters, and DICOM RT exports for authorized review and downstream treatment workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Limitations
Only appropriately trained and authorized users should operate the system, and each institution must perform installation-specific acceptance and commissioning after relevant hardware or software changes. Automated segmentation requires human review and is not intended to identify lesions; automatic organ segmentation must not be treated as lesion detection. Independent dose checks must actually be independent, DICOM export success must be verified, approximate dose is not for clinical decisions, machine-learning models require local commissioning, and machine-learning planning was not validated for adaptive replanning in the reviewed IFU.
Vendor supplied Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K222312
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Anatomy
Multi-region
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-02
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-03-29
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
RayStation 12A imports and exports DICOM and DICOM RT images, structures, plans, and dose objects and can exchange data with PACS, treatment delivery, and oncology workflow systems. The reviewed architecture uses patient, machine, and clinic Microsoft SQL databases.
Vendor supplied Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02

Validate every DICOM service, transfer profile, object mapping, treatment-machine interface, database dependency, and failure-recovery path in the local environment.

Deployment and data flow
RayStation 12A supports Windows workstations connected to Microsoft SQL Server and DICOM systems, with documented desktop, centralized Citrix, shared application-server, and restricted virtual-machine patterns. The FDA summary permits standard desktop or remote virtualized use when remote behavior is verified equivalent to local use and states that RayStation is not intended for long-term image or patient-data storage.
Vendor supplied Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02
Security and privacy
The FDA summary describes licensing controls, checksums, and administrator-limited database access. RaySearch's 12A environment guide calls for role-based Active Directory groups, least privilege, encrypted SQL and backend communications, VPN or network segmentation for legacy DICOM, disk and database encryption where appropriate, encrypted backups, malware protection, account lockout, and controlled remote access.
Vendor supplied Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02

The environment guide warns that secure operation on Windows Server 2016 cannot be guaranteed after the end of NVIDIA R470 security support. Confirm the exact supported operating-system, GPU-driver, database, and patch matrix for the installed build.

Training and support
The organization is responsible for ensuring that only authorized, appropriately trained planners and other qualified users operate RayStation 12A. Training should cover the configured clinical functions, plan review, machine and beam-model commissioning, automated segmentation review, dose-check independence, export verification, and applicable warnings.
Vendor supplied Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02
Monitoring and change control
RayStation 12A implementation guidance requires installation-specific acceptance and commissioning, independent dose verification, DICOM export checks, controlled software and hardware changes, database backup and maintenance, and monitoring of disk capacity, services, and processor resources. Automated-segmentation and machine-learning outputs remain subject to qualified-user review and local model commissioning.
Vendor supplied Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02

Local governance should also include incident review, backup-restoration tests, interface reconciliation, performance baselines, access review, vulnerability response, change control, and FDA recall surveillance.

Application and database architecture

The FDA summary describes RayStation, RayPhysics, and RayTreat applications and separate Microsoft SQL patient, machine, and clinic databases.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-02

Assign technical ownership for application servers, databases, storage, backups, treatment interfaces, and clinical configuration.

Supported deployment patterns

The 12A environment guide documents local desktop, centralized Citrix, shared application-server, and restricted virtual-machine designs using Windows clients, Microsoft SQL Server, and supported NVIDIA GPUs.

exact product version · checked 2026-09-02

Size CPU, memory, GPU, storage, database, remote-display, and concurrency for the purchased modules and workload; confirm every component against the installed 12A build.

DICOM and treatment workflow

RayStation 12A imports CT, PET, and MR data and supports DICOM and DICOM RT exchange of images, structures, plans, and dose with connected clinical systems.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-02

The IFU requires verification that DICOM export completed successfully. Include object-level reconciliation and treatment-machine end-to-end tests in acceptance.

Security baseline

Role-based Active Directory groups separate administration, beam commissioning, plan approval, and machine-learning administration; the guide also describes least privilege, encrypted communications and storage, protected backups, malware controls, account lockout, VPN or segmentation for legacy DICOM, and controlled remote access.

exact product version · checked 2026-09-02

Translate vendor guidance into a site security design, access matrix, patch plan, vulnerability process, backup architecture, logging plan, and downtime procedure.

Acceptance, commissioning, and change control

The IFU requires installation-specific acceptance after relevant hardware or software changes, local commissioning of machine-learning models, qualified-user review of automated segmentations, and genuinely independent dose verification.

exact product version · checked 2026-09-02

Create signed acceptance protocols for each modality, machine, energy, technique, dose engine, model, script, interface, and report used clinically.

Operations and maintenance

The environment guide calls for database backup and reindexing and monitoring of disk capacity, services, and processor utilization.

exact product version · checked 2026-09-02

Define alert thresholds, owners, escalation, restoration tests, maintenance windows, capacity forecasts, and evidence retention.

Current product-family context

RaySearch continues to market RayStation as a configurable treatment-planning platform spanning multiple treatment techniques and machine ecosystems and maintains versioned safety and performance documentation.

product family · checked 2026-09-02

Map all current commercial claims, support terms, upgrade paths, and optional modules back to the exact licensed 12A configuration.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
The exact-version evidence is strongest for technical validation and comparative plan quality, not patient outcomes. FDA-reviewed manufacturer tests covered dose-engine and treatment-technique changes, while an independent 59-plan comparison evaluated RayStation 12A CyberKnife plans. Additional independent product-family commissioning data support local QA design but cannot be assumed to represent 12A without version confirmation.
Public source Exact product version Checked 2026-09-02
Reported sensitivity
Research pending
Needs research Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
Needs research Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Electron dose-engine gamma failure acceptance limit

2 % of evaluated data points upper bound

Data points failing a 2% / 2 mm gamma comparison against the prior RayStation electron Monte Carlo implementation in Manufacturer electron dose-engine validation cases described in the K222312 summary.

Tested version: RayStation 12A electron Monte Carlo dose engine cleared in K222312

Maximum averaged central-axis dose difference

0.8 %

Maximum averaged difference between measured and calculated absolute central-axis dose across tested collimators and algorithms in CyberKnife M6 fixed, Iris, and multileaf collimator beam-model commissioning and validation.

Tested version: RayStation CyberKnife module; software release not reported

Mean patient-specific QA gamma pass rate

98 % of points

Mean proportion of points meeting 3% / 1 mm gamma criteria in Patient-specific QA plans across commissioned CyberKnife M6 collimator and dose-algorithm models.

Tested version: RayStation CyberKnife module; software release not reported

K222312 RayStation 12A nonclinical verification and validation

Manufacturer software verification and validation with water-tank, phantom, prior-engine, published-reference, competing-system, and independent Monte Carlo comparisons across changed treatment-planning functions · Ocular planning, electron dose calculation, brachytherapy TG-43, automated field-in-field, Flexitron support, and other software changes; no patient cohort reported

exact submission · Tested version: RayStation 12A cleared in K222312 · Sponsor or vendor study

K222312

FDA found the verification and validation adequate for substantial equivalence. The summary does not establish patient outcomes.

Dosimetric comparison of M6 CyberKnife plans optimized with Precision and RayStation 12A treatment planning systems

Independent single-center paired dosimetric comparison in which each case was planned with RayStation 12A and Precision · 59 paired CyberKnife M6 plans: 39 brain-metastasis plans and 20 vertebral-metastasis plans

exact product version · Tested version: RayStation 12A CyberKnife module · n=59 · 1 site · Independent study

PMID 39698880

Target coverage was equivalent for brain cases and worse for vertebral cases; organ-at-risk sparing improved, conformity was lower, and optimization took longer. The authors reported no conflicts of interest.

Commissioning and validation of RayStation treatment planning system for CyberKnife M6

Independent single-center beam-model commissioning and phantom validation of collapsed-cone and Monte Carlo calculations for fixed, Iris, and multileaf collimators · CyberKnife M6 water-tank, homogeneous and heterogeneous phantom, irregular-field, off-axis, and patient-specific QA measurements

product family · Tested version: RayStation CyberKnife module; software release not reported · 1 site · Independent study

PMID 35856911

Most measured-versus-calculated differences were within plus or minus 1%, with a 3.2% maximum at 19.5 cm depth. One author held an unrelated Accuray grant.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
No public price for the exact RayStation 12A configuration was found. A 2025 vendor announcement reports a RMB 51 million RayStation order including a service contract for a Chinese carbon-ion center; it is a bundled product-family benchmark, not a 12A list price or a transferable quote.
Public source Product family Checked 2026-09-02
Reimbursement and coding
CMS describes payment for professional and technical radiation therapy services, not a separate payment assigned to named treatment-planning software. The reviewed source does not support treating RayStation as independently reimbursed; local payer, contract, and service-line analysis remains necessary.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-02

CNY 51000000

total order including service contract · China

Observed 2025-03-04

Vendor-announced product-family order for an advanced carbon-ion, proton, and photon center. It is not a RayStation 12A list price, excludes unknown allocation across licenses and services, and should not be transferred to another institution or configuration.

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in the reviewed CMS Radiation Oncology Model page

Medicare · United States

This is payment context for radiation therapy services, not a comprehensive coding or coverage determination.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
FDA recall Z-1105-2026 affects RayStation 12A and its first two service packs because calculated dose might not invalidate after geometry or material changes to certain empty, bolus, fixation, or support ROIs. FDA lists the recall as open and classified. FDA recall Z-2493-2025 includes RayStation 12A and its first two service packs. DICOM objects exported through the RayGateway interface to Accuray iDMS were not guaranteed to receive unique SOP Instance and Series Instance UIDs. FDA lists the recall as open and classified. FDA recall Z-1191-2025 includes RayStation 12A and its first two service packs. It concerns inconsistent interpretation of density uncertainty in robust optimization, robust evaluation, and perturbed-dose calculations for proton and light-ion plans using an HU-to-mass-density calibration curve. FDA lists the recall as open and classified. FDA recall Z-1750-2024 affects RayStation 12A builds 13.0.0.1547, 13.1.0.144, and 13.1.1.89 because the reported source-to-surface distance could be too high. FDA lists the recall as open and classified. FDA recall Z-1482-2024 includes RayStation 12A. It addresses a use error in which elemental silicon could be selected instead of silicone gel polymer as an implant material override, with potentially greater consequence for ion-beam planning. FDA lists the recall as open and classified.
FDA source Exact product version Checked 2026-09-04

Each published event was manually matched to the exact FDA submission and affected product or version; a recall does not establish an AI-algorithm defect or current site exposure unless the event states that scope.

recall: Z-1105-2026

Open, Classified

2026-01-16

The FDA record names RayStation 12A builds 13.0.0.1547, 13.1.0.144, and 13.1.1.89. Verify installed build, correction status, and the vendor workaround.

recall: Z-2493-2025

Open, Classified

2025-09-02

The FDA record names all three 12A builds. Sites should verify installed versions and the vendor correction or re-export workaround.

recall: Z-1191-2025

Open, Classified

2025-02-19

The FDA record explicitly names the RayStation 12A builds. Applicability depends on particle planning and the installed CT calibration approach.

recall: Z-1750-2024

Open, Classified

2024-05-01

Exact 12A build match. The FDA action directs users to verify critical SSD values with the Measure Tool and follow the vendor correction.

recall: Z-1482-2024

Open, Classified

2024-04-05

RayStation 12A is explicitly included. Sites should verify material-assignment review controls and whether the affected material remains available in the installed release.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
22Fields reviewed
12Source classes checked
4Unreviewed PubMed leads
0Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. The exact FDA summary, exact-version IFU and environment guide, current vendor product context, independent exact-version and product-family evidence, public pricing observation, CMS payment context, and every exact-identifier FDA recall candidate were manually reviewed. Product-specific contract pricing, local interoperability, installed options, and site qualification still require institution and vendor evidence. Automated exact-name discovery found 4 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. 6 FDA recall candidates were manually reviewed: 5 published and 1 rejected as a neighboring or otherwise inapplicable version. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 6 postmarket candidate records; 6 have been reviewed (5 published, 1 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, vendor instructions for use, vendor technical documentation, vendor product page, peer reviewed publication, vendor pricing observation, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K242994

OncoStudio (OS-01)

OncoSoft. Co., Ltd.

OncoStudio OS-01 creates initial deep-learning organs-at-risk contours from CT images of the head and neck, thorax, abdomen, and pelvis for radiation-oncology review, editing, and...

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Multi-region
Decision
2025-02-24