FDA-cleared profile

Rapid PE Triage and Notification (PETN)

iSchemaView Inc.

Authorized purpose: Adult workflow triage and notification for suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Adult workflow triage and notification for suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Adult workflow triage and notification for suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA reports 306 CTPA cases with 3-expert 2:3 ground truth: sensitivity 0.96 (0.92-0.98) and specificity 0.89 (0.83-0.93).

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Adult workflow triage and notification for suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled from the decision-summary packet.

Intended users
Hospital networks, trained clinicians, and medical-imaging professionals.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Care setting and population
Adult
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Patient-population text reported in the exact-submission ACR model card; institutional setting may still require vendor confirmation.

Workflow role
Triage or notification support
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Conservative normalization of explicit wording in an exact-submission source.

Required input
Single-energy, contrast-enhanced CTPA images in adults.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Output and human action
Priority notification indicating suspected central pulmonary embolism with compressed preview images; no original-image alteration; triage/prioritization only.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Limitations
The software is only intended to be used on single-energy exams. Notifications include compressed preview images that are meant for informational purposes only and not intended for diagnostic use beyond notification. The device does not alter the original medical image and is not intended to be used as a diagnostic device. Notified clinicians are responsible for viewing full images per the standard of care. Rapid PETN is validated for use on GE, Siemens and Toshiba scanners.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The replacement uses the packet's single-energy, informational-preview, non-diagnostic, standard-of-care, and named-scanner boundaries instead of the dossier's unsupported compatibility-unknown wording.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K220499
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
CT/CTA
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact packet specifies CTPA and does not establish the broader CT/CTA label. Controlled directory display reconciled from exact FDA wording: CTPA -> CT/CTA.

Anatomy
Chest/Lung
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact packet states the pulmonary-embolism pathology and adult scope but does not state the dossier's Chest/Lung anatomical label. Controlled directory display reconciled from exact FDA wording: Central pulmonary embolism (PE) pathology in adults. -> Chest/Lung.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2022-05-17
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
On-premise
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Supported acquisition environment

Scanner manufacturers: Canon/Toshiba;GE;Siemens

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm currently supported software versions, protocols, and site-specific acquisition configurations.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for Rapid PE Triage and Notification (PETN); FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA reports 306 CTPA cases with 3-expert 2:3 ground truth: sensitivity 0.96 (0.92-0.98) and specificity 0.89 (0.83-0.93).
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Reported sensitivity
96% (95% CI: 92%, 98%)
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Model sensitivity reported by ACR AI Central. Review endpoint, threshold, study population, and tested version before comparison.

Reported specificity
89% (95% CI: 83%, 93%)
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Model specificity reported by ACR AI Central. Review endpoint, threshold, study population, and tested version before comparison.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Rapid PE Triage and Notification (PETN) regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationAdult
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K220499
  • Samplen=306
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K220499

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K220499 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K220499. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
29Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, fda decision summary packet, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K220499: Rapid PE Triage and Notification (PETN)

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2022-05-17 - Accessed 2026-09-19

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation, purpose, intendedUsers, input, output, limitations, evidenceSummary

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Rapid PE Triage and Notification (PETN) model card (K220499)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, limitations, reportedSensitivity, reportedSpecificity, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies, implementationCapabilities

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K220499

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K220499 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K213886

BriefCase

Aidoc Medical, Ltd.

BriefCase is a radiological computer aided triage and notification software indicated for use in the analysis of contrast-enhanced chest CTs (not dedicated CTPA protocol) in...

Modality
CT/CTA
Anatomy
Chest/Lung
Decision
2022-04-26
FDA-cleared K201020

BriefCase

Aidoc Medical, Ltd.

BriefCase analyzes contrast-enhanced chest CT for suspected pulmonary embolism and notifies or prioritizes the study in the labeled hospital or cloud worklist workflow; the output...

Modality
CT/CTA
Anatomy
Chest/Lung
Decision
2020-08-26