FDA-cleared profile

O-arm O2 Imaging System

Medtronic Navigation, Inc

Authorized purpose: O-arm O2 4.3.0 provides mobile intraoperative two- and three-dimensional X-ray imaging of bony anatomy and metal objects, navigation support, 3D Long Scan, implant artifact reduction, and lower-dose Spine Smart Dose acquisition for labeled patients.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: O-arm O2 4.3.0 provides mobile intraoperative two- and three-dimensional X-ray imaging of bony anatomy and metal objects, navigation support, 3D Long Scan, implant artifact reduction, and lower-dose Spine Smart Dose acquisition for labeled patients.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: O-arm O2 4.3.0 provides mobile intraoperative two- and three-dimensional X-ray imaging of bony anatomy and metal objects, navigation support, 3D Long Scan, implant artifact reduction, and lower-dose Spine Smart Dose acquisition for labeled patients.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: K240465 reports blinded review of 100 clinical image pairs, with Spine Smart Dose judged clinically equivalent at roughly one-quarter of corresponding standard-mode dose. Independent comparative research found mode-dependent dose and low-contrast tradeoffs, supporting local protocol testing.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
O-arm O2 4.3.0 provides mobile intraoperative two- and three-dimensional X-ray imaging of bony anatomy and metal objects, navigation support, 3D Long Scan, implant artifact reduction, and lower-dose Spine Smart Dose acquisition for labeled patients.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled from the decision-summary packet.

Intended users
Surgeons, spine representatives, and radiation technologists.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact FDA usability section identifies these clinically relevant users; it does not establish the dossier's added qualified operating-room-staff wording.

Care setting and population
Operating rooms and surgical imaging environments.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Intraoperative 2D/3D imaging, navigation registration, implant visualization, long-field imaging, and lower-dose spine acquisition.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
A mobile x-ray system that provides 3D and 2D imaging.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact FDA product description states the mobile x-ray system's 3D and 2D imaging; the current projection-data and mode list is not stated as an input description in the packet.

Output and human action
2D or reconstructed 3D images of bony anatomy and metal objects for review and compatible surgical navigation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Limitations
The O-arm O2 Imaging System is designed for adult and pediatric patients weighing 60 lbs or greater and having an abdominal thickness greater than 16 cm, and is compatible with certain image guided surgery systems.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact FDA indication supplies the patient-size boundary and image-guided-surgery compatibility statement without the dossier's added performance-dependence interpretation.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K240465
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
CBCT
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Anatomy
Spine
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2024-06-21
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Image-guided surgery and navigation integration with DICOM or configured image exchange; validate registration accuracy, orientation, geometry, identifiers, and failure recovery.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Deployment and data flow
Mobile operating-room X-ray/CBCT system with gantry, detector, workstation, navigation interfaces, and radiation-safety controls.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this batch do not establish the complete security posture for the exact release. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, support-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified surgeons, radiologic technologists, and trained operating-room staff. should operate or interpret the system. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track the limits that matter for this product: Patient size and age thresholds apply. It is primarily for bony anatomy and metal objects; dose, contrast, field length, artifact reduction, and navigation performance depend on acquisition mode and anatomy.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, and outputs to K240465 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

Image-guided surgery and navigation integration with DICOM or configured image exchange; validate registration accuracy, orientation, geometry, identifiers, and failure recovery.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Patient size and age thresholds apply. It is primarily for bony anatomy and metal objects; dose, contrast, field length, artifact reduction, and navigation performance depend on acquisition mode and anatomy.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track the limits that matter for this product: Patient size and age thresholds apply. It is primarily for bony anatomy and metal objects; dose, contrast, field length, artifact reduction, and navigation performance depend on acquisition mode and anatomy.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
K240465 reports blinded review of 100 clinical image pairs, with Spine Smart Dose judged clinically equivalent at roughly one-quarter of corresponding standard-mode dose. Independent comparative research found mode-dependent dose and low-contrast tradeoffs, supporting local protocol testing.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary applicable endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, planning, guidance, or dose-delivery function. Use the task-specific endpoints and tested population reported below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary applicable endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, planning, guidance, or dose-delivery function. Use the task-specific endpoints and tested population reported below.

Spine Smart Dose clinical image pairs

100 pairs

  • EndpointBlinded equivalence review versus predicate modes
  • PopulationO-arm O2 Imaging System
  • Tested versionO-arm O2 Imaging System 4.3.0

Approximate Spine Smart Dose reduction

70 %

  • EndpointPatient-dose reduction described for sparse acquisition
  • PopulationO-arm O2 Imaging System
  • Tested versionO-arm O2 Imaging System 4.3.0

Reviewed SSD dose relative to standard

25 %

  • EndpointApproximate dose of corresponding Standard images
  • PopulationO-arm O2 Imaging System
  • Tested versionO-arm O2 Imaging System 4.3.0

K240465 FDA performance package for O-arm O2 Imaging System

  • DesignManufacturer blinded clinical and cadaver paired-image validation plus phantom, dosimetry, usability, navigation, and bench testing
  • Population100 clinical or cadaver image pairs reviewed by board-certified neuroradiologists plus phantom and simulated-use tests
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionO-arm O2 Imaging System 4.3.0
  • Samplen=100
  • IndependenceSponsor or vendor study

K240465

Manufacturer evidence submitted for substantial equivalence; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Radiation exposure and image quality comparison of intraoperative imaging systems

  • DesignIndependent phantom comparison
  • PopulationO-arm O2 and comparator acquisition modes
  • Scopeproduct family
  • Tested versionO-arm O2 product family
  • IndependenceIndependent study

PMID 34111631

Independent technical comparison; protocol and phantom results are not patient outcomes.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, enabled features, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the device within the applicable imaging or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
  • Public source
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
2 reviewed FDA recall records in the 2026-09-02 openFDA snapshot natively identify K240465. Read the model- and version-scoped events and confirm affected-unit and correction status with the manufacturer. FDA recall Z-2101-2025 affects O-arm O2 systems because a gantry-support mechanical component might have been damaged during manufacture. FDA lists the recall as open and classified. FDA recall Z-2451-2026 affects O-arm O2 detector-panel firmware because an anomaly could cause image artifacts. FDA lists the recall as open and classified.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-04

Each published event was manually matched to the exact FDA submission and affected product or version; a recall does not establish an AI-algorithm defect or current site exposure unless the event states that scope.

recall: Z-2101-2025

Open, Classified

2025-07-09

Exact O-arm O2 match. Confirm affected serial number, inspection, and correction status before relying on the system.

recall: Z-2451-2026

Open, Classified

2026-06-15

Exact O-arm O2 model match. Confirm detector firmware and correction status and include artifact recognition in local image-quality controls.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
27Fields reviewed
12Source classes checked
3Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains 3 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Discovery metadata alone does not establish exact tested-product, version, population, and endpoint applicability, so all candidates remain quarantined and none was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 3 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. 2 FDA recall candidates were manually reviewed: 2 published and 0 rejected as a neighboring or otherwise inapplicable version. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 2 postmarket candidate records; 2 have been reviewed (2 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, vendor product page, peer reviewed publication, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, fda decision summary packet, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K240465: O-arm O2 Imaging System

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2024-06-21 - Accessed 2026-09-19

    Scope: purpose, modality, anatomy, output, intendedUsers, input, limitations, evidenceSummary, clinicalUse

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. FDA recall Z-2101-2025: O-arm O2 Imaging System. Mobile X-Ray System.

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2025-07-09 - Accessed 2026-09-04

    Scope: postmarketSafety, affectedProduct, recallStatus, correctiveAction

  4. FDA recall Z-2451-2026: Medtronic O-arm O2 Imaging System. Model Number: BI70002000.

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2026-06-15 - Accessed 2026-09-04

    Scope: postmarketSafety, affectedProduct, recallStatus, correctiveAction

  5. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  6. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  7. Medicare Coverage Database

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: coverage, codingContext

  8. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  9. O-arm surgical imaging system

    Medtronic - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: productFamily, workflowRole, implementationCapabilities, currentCommercialContext

  10. Radiation exposure and image quality comparison of O-arm O2 and another intraoperative imaging system

    European Spine Journal - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: limitations, evidenceSummary, evidenceStudy, evidenceMetrics, monitoring

Research history

  1. K240465 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    human reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K231757

Ez3D-i /E3

Ewoosoft Co., Ltd

Ez3D-i/E3 provides dental and maxillofacial DICOM viewing, three-dimensional visualization, multiplanar reconstruction, two-dimensional analysis, implant simulation, canal...

Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Dental/Maxillofacial
Decision
2023-07-14
FDA-cleared K261289

UNiD™ Spine Analyzer (SW3002)

Medicrea International S.A.S. (Medtronic)

UNiD Spine Analyzer SW3002 v5.1.0 enables healthcare professionals to view and measure images and plan orthopedic spine surgeries, including preoperative and postoperative...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Spine
Decision
2026-05-15
FDA-cleared K260785

DS Core CBCT Anatomy

Dentsply Sirona

DS Core CBCT Anatomy uses CBCT and digital-impression data to provide tooth and jaw segmentation, inferior-alveolar-nerve-canal segmentation, panoramic-curve support, and...

Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Teeth; jaws; and the inferior alveolar nerve canal
Decision
2026-04-23