FDA-cleared profile

NEUROShield

In-Med Prognostics L3C

Authorized purpose: NEUROShield labels, visualizes, and quantifies hippocampal volume from brain MRI as decision support for neurologists and neuroradiologists.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: NEUROShield labels, visualizes, and quantifies hippocampal volume from brain MRI as decision support for neurologists and neuroradiologists.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: NEUROShield labels, visualizes, and quantifies hippocampal volume from brain MRI as decision support for neurologists and neuroradiologists.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: K220034 describes a locked algorithm trained on 186 healthy cases and validated on 280 independent ADNI subjects from three U.S. regions at 1.5T and 3T across GE, Siemens, and Philips scanners. Three radiologists provided a STAPLE reference; mean Dice was 0.91 (95% CI 0.90-0.92) and Hausdorff distance was 3.8 mm (95% CI 3.57-4.06).

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
NEUROShield labels, visualizes, and quantifies hippocampal volume from brain MRI as decision support for neurologists and neuroradiologists.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Intended users
Neurologists and neuroradiologists.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact device description identifies a clinical decision support tool for neurologists and neuroradiologists; neurosurgeons and general imaging or surgical staff are not established as intended-user classes.

Care setting and population
Hospital neuroimaging, stroke, neurosurgical, or stereotactic-planning workflows.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Brain-image registration, segmentation, quantification, visualization, or procedure-planning support.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
3D T1 MRI scans; NEUROShield requires uncompressed DICOM files as input.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The current value includes brain CT, which is not supported by the exact packet.

Output and human action
Automatic labelling, visualization, and volumetric quantification of the Hippocampus brain structure.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact indications specify hippocampal labeling, visualization, and volumetric quantification; registered images and planning visualizations are not stated.

Limitations
Results must be reviewed by a trained physician.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

This is the packet's explicit review requirement; the current modality, registration, lesion, and longitudinal-comparison wording is not stated.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K220034
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
MRI
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Anatomy
Brain
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-09-14
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM import and output to PACS, workstations, or surgical systems; validate series selection, orientation, registration, measurements, routing, latency, and failure handling.
  • Public source
  • Product family
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Current vendor materials are product-family evidence for K220034; confirm the exact cleared version, enabled options, deployment, and local compatibility.

Deployment and data flow
Software workstation, server, virtual appliance, or connected clinical application using the cleared release.
  • Public source
  • Product family
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Current vendor materials are product-family evidence for K220034; confirm the exact cleared version, enabled options, deployment, and local compatibility.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified radiologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and trained imaging or surgical staff should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.
  • Public source
  • Product family
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Current vendor materials are product-family evidence for K220034; confirm the exact cleared version, enabled options, deployment, and local compatibility.

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled AI functions to K220034 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM import and output to PACS, workstations, or surgical systems; validate series selection, orientation, registration, measurements, routing, latency, and failure handling.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally. Vendor statements are current product-family context; confirm the exact cleared release and installed options.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Outputs are adjunctive and require review against source images and clinical context; modality, protocol, registration, lesion, anatomy, and longitudinal-comparison limits apply.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. Vendor statements are current product-family context; confirm the exact cleared release and installed options.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
K220034 describes a locked algorithm trained on 186 healthy cases and validated on 280 independent ADNI subjects from three U.S. regions at 1.5T and 3T across GE, Siemens, and Philips scanners. Three radiologists provided a STAPLE reference; mean Dice was 0.91 (95% CI 0.90-0.92) and Hausdorff distance was 3.8 mm (95% CI 3.57-4.06).
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary endpoint for this system, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary endpoint for this system, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Mean hippocampal Dice

0.91 coefficient

  • EndpointHippocampal segmentation overlap
  • PopulationNEUROShield
  • Tested versionNEUROShield

Mean Hausdorff distance

3.8 mm

  • EndpointHippocampal boundary distance
  • PopulationNEUROShield
  • Tested versionNEUROShield

Independent validation subjects

280 subjects

  • EndpointADNI analytical validation
  • PopulationNEUROShield
  • Tested versionNEUROShield

K220034 FDA performance package for NEUROShield

  • DesignRetrospective independent analytical cross-sectional hippocampal-segmentation validation with radiologist STAPLE reference
  • Population280 independent ADNI subjects from 3 U.S. regions and 186 healthy training cases across 1.5T and 3T scanners
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionNEUROShield
  • IndependenceSponsor or vendor study

K220034

Manufacturer evidence submitted for FDA clearance or approval; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

3 unlinked candidate evidence records are retained for source review and excluded from this evidence display.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
  • Public source
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K220034 by exact submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later, or adverse-event information.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
27Fields reviewed
15Source classes checked
13Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains 13 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Discovery metadata alone does not establish exact tested-product, version, population, and endpoint applicability, so all candidates remain quarantined and none was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 13 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda decision material, vendor product page, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, fda decision summary packet, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K220034: NEUROShield

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2023-09-14 - Accessed 2026-09-19

    Scope: purpose, modality, anatomy, evidenceSummary, intendedUsers, input, output, limitations

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. NEUROShield model card (K220034)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-06-26 - Accessed 2026-09-01

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. Medicare Coverage Database

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: coverage, codingContext

  7. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  8. InMed NEUROShield

    InMed AI - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: productFamilyContext, workflowRole, implementationCapabilities

  9. A cardiologist in the carotids.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  10. Integrating advanced neural network architectures with privacy enhanced encryption for secure and intelligent healthcare analytics.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  11. In vitro comparison of four cerebral protection filters for preventing human plaque embolization during carotid interventions.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  12. Comparison of 4 cerebral protection filters for carotid angioplasty: an in vitro experiment focusing on carotid anatomy.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  13. Multicenter evaluation of carotid artery stenting with a filter protection system.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  14. Neurological outcomes after carotid stenting protected with the NeuroShield filter compared to unprotected stenting.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  15. [Carotid artery stenting with proximal or distal brain protection: early outcome].

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  16. Protected carotid stenting: safety and efficacy of the MedNova NeuroShield filter.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  17. An in vitro analysis of a carotid artery stent with a protective porous membrane.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  18. Vessel wall damage caused by cerebral protection devices: ex vivo evaluation in porcine carotid arteries.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  19. A comparative assessment of age- and gender-related variations in brain morphometry using linear and volumetric MRI analysis.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  20. Comparison of various cerebral protection devices used for carotid artery stent placement: an in vitro experiment.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  21. Impact of cerebral protection devices on early outcome of carotid stenting.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

Research history

  1. K220034 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K261405

ANDI 2.2

Imeka Solutions, Inc.

ANDI 2.2 processes brain MR images for atlas-assisted visualization, segmentation and volumetric quantification, presenting adjunctive DICOM-readable information for trained...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-28
FDA-cleared K260032

Morph

BeauBrain Healthcare, Inc.

Morph automatically labels, visualizes, and volumetrically quantifies segmentable brain structures from MR images and may compare measurements with reference percentile data; it...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-13
FDA-cleared K253057

AI-Rad Companion Brain MR

Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Brain MRI morphometry and white matter hyperintensity quantification, including normative comparison and longitudinal change assessment for clinician review.

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-01-22
FDA-cleared K252298

ANDI 2.0

Imeka Solutions, Inc.

Adjunctive quantitative brain MRI analysis that compares patient measures with normative and longitudinal references; a physician reviews all results and makes the clinical...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2025-10-22