FDA-cleared profile

HepaFatSmart (V2.0.0)

Resonance Health Analysis Services Pty Ltd

Provide quantitative volumetric liver fat fraction, proton-density fat fraction, and steatosis grading to support clinical diagnosis and subsequent management decisions for confirmed or suspected fatty liver disease or metabolic syndromes and to aid living-donor liver-transplant assessment and screening, with results interpreted by a trained physician.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Provide quantitative volumetric liver fat fraction, proton-density fat fraction, and steatosis grading to support clinical diagnosis and subsequent management decisions for confirmed or suspected fatty liver disease or metabolic syndromes and to aid living-donor liver-transplant assessment and screening, with results interpreted by a trained physician.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Intended users
Trained physicians; the FDA report requires physician interpretation and includes radiologist review of the liver ROI and result.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Care setting and population
Clinical liver MRI workflow for suspected or confirmed fatty liver conditions, metabolic syndromes, lifestyle-management support, and living-donor screening; the FDA packet does not specify a facility type.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Workflow role
Post-acquisition MRI protocol-quality checking and automated liver ROI/image analysis followed by report review in clinical context.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Required input
DICOM MRI datasets acquired according to the HepaFatSmart/HepaFat-Scan protocol using the specified gradient-recalled-echo approach, for patients of all populations independent of age and gender with suspected clinical conditions related to liver fat.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Output and human action
PDF and DICOM secondary-capture reports containing VLFF, PDFF, steatosis grade, associated confidence intervals and normal range, two echo-time images, a predicted liver ROI overlay, and a fat-distribution map; Alpha is converted into the reported VLFF, PDFF, and steatosis grade.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Limitations
The specified MRI protocol and protocol-quality checks are critical to the reported results, and the FDA validation included an excessive-iron assessment that rejected one repeatability case and caused 281 of 300 validation subjects to pass the IQC rules. Results require trained-physician interpretation and clinical context; the packet does not establish unrestricted MRI-sequence or population performance.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K231459
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
MRI
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Anatomy
Liver
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-06-20
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA description states that users upload DICOM images to the FAST portal/job-management system and that HepaFatSmart can be accessed through cloud-based, onsite, or third-party platforms, with PDF and DICOM secondary-capture reports; exact current interfaces, hosting configuration, and local compatibility are not established.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Deployment and data flow
On-cloud
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Input or output interoperability

DICOM is explicitly referenced in the described input, output, or workflow.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

The model card does not establish every supported DICOM object, transfer method, or local interface.

Supported acquisition environment

Scanner manufacturers: All

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm currently supported software versions, protocols, and site-specific acquisition configurations.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for HepaFatSmart (V2.0.0); FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
The FDA packet reports a repeatability study of 42 paired subjects, with 41 used for HepaFatSmart after one high-iron case was rejected, and a validation study of 300 subjects in which 281 passed IQC. For VLFF values above 4.1%, sensitivity was 100.0% (95% CI 97.3%-100.0%) and specificity 98.6% (94.9%-99.6%); above 12.1%, sensitivity 98.8% (93.6%-99.8%) and specificity 98.0% (94.9%-99.2%); above 16.2%, sensitivity 100.0% (93.8%-100.0%) and specificity 99.6% (97.5%-99.9%). Bland-Altman bias, limits of agreement, and repeatability coefficients are separate quantitative-agreement endpoints.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09
Reported sensitivity
FDA VLFF-threshold sensitivity in the IQC-passing validation set (n=281): VLFF >4.1% 100.0% (95% CI 97.3%-100.0%); VLFF >12.1% 98.8% (93.6%-99.8%); VLFF >16.2% 100.0% (93.8%-100.0%).
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

The FDA values are threshold-specific sensitivity for predicting HepaFat-Scan VLFF values, not a generic 90% device metric or a clinical-outcome endpoint.

Reported specificity
FDA VLFF-threshold specificity in the IQC-passing validation set (n=281): VLFF >4.1% 98.6% (95% CI 94.9%-99.6%); VLFF >12.1% 98.0% (94.9%-99.2%); VLFF >16.2% 99.6% (97.5%-99.9%).
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

The FDA values are threshold-specific specificity for predicting HepaFat-Scan VLFF values; Bland-Altman and repeatability results remain separate.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

HepaFatSmart (V2.0.0) regulatory performance study summary

Stand-Alone Performance · Adult and Pediatric

exact submission · Tested version: Exact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K231459 · n=300 · Independence not established

K231459

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K231459 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K231459. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-09Last searched
25Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Unreviewed PubMed leads
0Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Exact-submission ACR model-card fields were normalized under the current provenance rules; vendor and independent-study confirmation remain distinct. Exact FDA scope controls clinical claims. ACR provides bounded exact-submission catalog context. Candidate literature metadata remains a discovery queue until full-text identity, endpoint, population, and version review is completed. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-09.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K213776

LiverSmart

Resonance Health Analysis Services Pty Ltd

LiverSmart is indicated to -For Liver Iron Concentration:(i) measure liver iron concentration in individuals with confirmed or suspected systemic iron overload;(ii) monitor liver...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Liver
Decision
2021-12-29