Authorized purpose: Case-level triage and notification of suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA in adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 years and older, in parallel with standard-of-care interpretation.
Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.
Product overview
Start with the essentials
Authorized purpose: Case-level triage and notification of suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA in adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 years and older, in parallel with standard-of-care interpretation.
Overview status: Source-reviewed overview
What does this software do?Authorized purpose: Case-level triage and notification of suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA in adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 years and older, in parallel with standard-of-care interpretation.
Which images or clinical context are in scope?Modality: CT/CTA Anatomy or clinical context: Chest and central pulmonary arteries Input: Filtered DICOM CTPA images from adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 years and older; the algorithm processes the series chronologically.
Who uses it?Intended users: Hospital networks and appropriately trained medical specialists.
What does the software produce?Output: A pop-up/priority notification for suspected central PE with a compressed, low-quality, grayscale, unannotated preview labeled for prioritization only; the workflow prompts review of the original images in PACS.
What is its most important limitation?Key limitation: The preview is informational and not for diagnostic use beyond notification; the original image is not altered, cases are not removed or deprioritized, and clinicians must review full images with other patient information and professional judgment. The FDA packet does not specify an additional image-quality or slice-thickness exclusion.
Clinical takeaway
Clinical role: Case-level triage and notification of suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA in adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 years and older, in parallel with standard-of-care interpretation.
Evidence takeaway
Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA packet: retrospective, blinded, multicenter pivotal study of 328 unique cases from 6 U.S. clinical sites, with three senior board-certified radiologists using majority voting. Default sensitivity was 89.2% (95% CI 82.5%-93.9%) and specificity 94.5% (90.3%-97.2%) against an 80% goal. AOP1 sensitivity/specificity were 96.9% (92.3%-99.2%)/85.9% (80.3%-90.4%). Default time-to-notification was 29.3 seconds (95% CI 26.8-31.9; n=115); PPV 52.9%, NPV 99.2%, PLR 16.1, and NLR 0.1 are separate endpoints.
Clinical details
What this tool is for
Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.
Exact purpose
Case-level triage and notification of suspected central pulmonary embolism on CTPA in adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 years and older, in parallel with standard-of-care interpretation.
A pop-up/priority notification for suspected central PE with a compressed, low-quality, grayscale, unannotated preview labeled for prioritization only; the workflow prompts review of the original images in PACS.
The preview is informational and not for diagnostic use beyond notification; the original image is not altered, cases are not removed or deprioritized, and clinicians must review full images with other patient information and professional judgment. The FDA packet does not specify an additional image-quality or slice-thickness exclusion.
The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.
Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.
Integration
The FDA packet describes a Linux-based cloud server receiving filtered DICOM images, an algorithm module integrated with a compatible image-communication platform and desktop workflow application, and review of original images in PACS; exact local interface compatibility is not established.
Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.
ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for BriefCase-Triage; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.
Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.
Evidence summary
FDA packet: retrospective, blinded, multicenter pivotal study of 328 unique cases from 6 U.S. clinical sites, with three senior board-certified radiologists using majority voting. Default sensitivity was 89.2% (95% CI 82.5%-93.9%) and specificity 94.5% (90.3%-97.2%) against an 80% goal. AOP1 sensitivity/specificity were 96.9% (92.3%-99.2%)/85.9% (80.3%-90.4%). Default time-to-notification was 29.3 seconds (95% CI 26.8-31.9; n=115); PPV 52.9%, NPV 99.2%, PLR 16.1, and NLR 0.1 are separate endpoints.
No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.
BriefCase-Central Pulmonary Embolism Triage regulatory performance study summary
DesignStand-Alone Performance
PopulationAdult
Scopeexact submission
Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K232751
Samplen=328
Sites6
IndependenceIndependence not established
K232751
ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.
These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.
Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-09
No public price or quote for the exact K232751 configuration was established in this review.
Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked
Exact FDA submission
Checked 2026-09-09
No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.
Safety and lifecycle
Postmarket record
Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.
Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K232751. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
Verify security and privacy controls: Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.
Verify training: Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.
Verify pricing and total cost: No public price or quote for the exact K232751 configuration was established in this review.
Verify reimbursement and coding relevance: No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.
Verify local validation and lifecycle monitoring: Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.
This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.
Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
26Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads
The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.
Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.
Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall
Sources & history
How this profile was documented
Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.
View source ledger and history7 sources - 3 history items
Worklist triage and notification for suspected incidental pulmonary embolism on contrast-enhanced CT acquired for another indication; not a diagnostic device
Modality
CT/CTA
Anatomy
Lung and pulmonary arterial segments containing incidental pulmonary embolism; subsegmental arteries are out of scope
BriefCase is a radiological computer aided triage and notification software indicated for use in the analysis of CTPA images in adults or transitional adolescents aged 18 and...