FDA-cleared profile

Auto 3D Bladder Volume Tool

Butterfly Network, Inc.

Authorized purpose: Views, quantifies, and reports noninvasive bladder-volume measurements from Butterfly ultrasound systems to support physician diagnosis.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Views, quantifies, and reports noninvasive bladder-volume measurements from Butterfly ultrasound systems to support physician diagnosis.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Views, quantifies, and reports noninvasive bladder-volume measurements from Butterfly ultrasound systems to support physician diagnosis.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: Non-interventional validation used representative volumes, balanced sex, typical age, separated training and test data, and inter- and intra-operator variability; sample size was not stated.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Views, quantifies, and reports noninvasive bladder-volume measurements from Butterfly ultrasound systems to support physician diagnosis.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled in this remediation finding.

Intended users
Qualified clinicians for adult patients.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA packet user and population scope.

Care setting and population
Adult
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Patient-population text reported in the exact-submission ACR model card; institutional setting may still require vendor confirmation.

Workflow role
Measurement or quantification
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Conservative normalization of explicit wording in an exact-submission source.

Required input
Butterfly iQ or Network ultrasound system images acquired with the bladder preset in B-mode, using 25 two-dimensional bladder images.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA packet input scope.

Output and human action
A bladder-volume estimate with automatic segmentation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA packet output scope.

Limitations
Not for fetal or pediatric use, pregnancy, ascites, or open suprapubic skin or wounds.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Exact FDA limitation boundary.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K200980
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Ultrasound
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA ultrasound scope.

Anatomy
Bladder
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Exact FDA bladder scope.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2020-06-11
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

The reviewed sources do not establish the current exact-release hosting topology, data flow, region, tenancy, or disaster-recovery configuration.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Supported acquisition environment

Scanner manufacturers: All

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm currently supported software versions, protocols, and site-specific acquisition configurations.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for Auto 3D Bladder Volume Tool; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
Non-interventional validation used representative volumes, balanced sex, typical age, separated training and test data, and inter- and intra-operator variability; sample size was not stated.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Submission-reported technical validation.

Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Auto 3D Bladder Volume Tool regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationAdult
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K200980
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K200980

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K200980 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K200980. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
24Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, fda decision summary packet, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K200980: Auto 3D Bladder Volume Tool

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2020-06-11 - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation, purpose, intendedUsers, input, output, limitations, evidenceSummary

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Auto 3D Bladder Volume Tool model card (K200980)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, limitations, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies, implementationCapabilities

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K200980

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K200980 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K232257

Clarius Bladder AI

Clarius Mobile Health Corp.

Provide semi-automatic, non-invasive bladder-volume measurements from ultrasound data acquired by the Clarius Ultrasound Scanner using curvilinear or phased-array scanners; a...

Modality
Ultrasound
Anatomy
Bladder
Decision
2023-11-13
FDA-cleared K252237

EdgeFlow UW20

Edgecare, Inc.

EdgeFlow UW20 is a wearable ultrasound system for noninvasive periodic bladder-volume measurement in adults with BMI no greater than 30.

Modality
Ultrasound
Anatomy
Urinary bladder
Decision
2026-04-17