FDA-cleared profile

Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access (VA40A)

Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access is indicated for display and rendering of medical data within healthcare institutions. The FDA summary describes an enterprise web application for DICOM, non-DICOM, multimedia, and clinical documents and standardized generic interfaces that do not control or alter connected medical devices.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access is indicated for display and rendering of medical data within healthcare institutions. The FDA summary describes an enterprise web application for DICOM, non-DICOM, multimedia, and clinical documents and standardized generic interfaces that do not control or alter connected medical devices.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Radiologists, physicians, technologists, surgeons, and other trained clinical image users.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Care setting and population
Hospital, outpatient, procedural, operating-room, or other labeled image-review environments.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Medical-image display, navigation, manipulation, annotation, distribution, and review support.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Required input
Supported DICOM, non-DICOM, clinical-document, and other labeled image or result inputs.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Output and human action
Displayed images, measurements, annotations, presentation states, rendered data, or result views for professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Limitations
The FDA indication is limited to display and rendering. Exact supported formats, routing, identity, retention, hosting, security, availability, and clinical workflow must be verified for the installed release and site.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K240294
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Medical data and clinical images within healthcare institutions
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2024-05-23
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The FDA summary describes standardized generic interfaces and enterprise display of DICOM and related data; validate identity, source metadata, routing, result association, audit, archive, and downtime behavior locally.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

The exact FDA material describes this input or interface boundary; local interoperability acceptance remains necessary.

Deployment and data flow
The FDA summary describes software-only installation on recommended common IT hardware and an enterprise-wide web application; hosting, security architecture, availability, and site responsibility remain unverified.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

The exact FDA material describes this release-level deployment boundary; hosting, contracts, security, availability, and site configuration remain separate evidence.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only radiologists, physicians, technologists, surgeons, and other trained clinical image users should operate or interpret this product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, algorithm, reconstruction, or configuration version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: The FDA indication is limited to display and rendering. Exact supported formats, routing, identity, retention, hosting, security, availability, and clinical workflow must be verified for the installed release and site.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K240294 before acceptance. Later family features are not evidence for this exact submission.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Interoperability acceptance

The FDA summary describes standardized generic interfaces and enterprise display of DICOM and related data; validate identity, source metadata, routing, result association, audit, archive, and downtime behavior locally. Test representative identifiers, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Deployment and security qualification

The FDA summary describes software-only installation on recommended common IT hardware and an enterprise-wide web application; hosting, security architecture, availability, and site responsibility remain unverified. Security, availability, retention, and service responsibilities remain unverified.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. The FDA indication is limited to display and rendering. Exact supported formats, routing, identity, retention, hosting, security, availability, and clinical workflow must be verified for the installed release and site.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs. No exact-product price was found.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, algorithm, reconstruction, or configuration version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: The FDA indication is limited to display and rendering. Exact supported formats, routing, identity, retention, hosting, security, availability, and clinical workflow must be verified for the installed release and site.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
The exact FDA 510(k) decision material for K240294 identifies Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access (VA40A) and describes the indicated use summarized in this dossier. It is regulatory evidence for the exact submission, not independent clinical validation. No performance or outcome claim is promoted without exact product and version linkage.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Sensitivity is not a product-wide endpoint for this system or software function. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if later verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

Specificity is not a product-wide endpoint for this system or software function. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if later verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K240294 FDA decision evidence for Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access (VA40A)

FDA 510(k) substantial-equivalence review of the exact submission, device description, indications, and verification or validation documentation. · Medical data and clinical images within healthcare institutions

exact submission · Tested version: Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access (VA40A) · Sponsor or vendor study

K240294

The FDA decision material is manufacturer-submitted regulatory evidence. It is not independent clinical validation, and local technical, clinical, privacy, security, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public list price for the exact cleared or approved configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, surgical, or diagnostic service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K240294 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
32Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Unreviewed PubMed leads
0Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Exact-name and exact-submission searches in the checked indexes returned no PubMed records and no ClinicalTrials.gov records for K240294; no published exact-submission recall was promoted. Candidate literature, registry, and non-native recall records remain quarantined unless exact product, version, and submission linkage is established. The FDA decision material remains the identity and intended-use anchor for Syngo Carbon Enterprise Access (VA40A). Pricing, complete security architecture, contracted deployment, exact reimbursement, and local interoperability remain unverified. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K250237

InferOperate Suite

Beijing Infervision Healthcare Medical Technology Co., Ltd.

InferOperate Suite supports trained healthcare professionals in reading, interpreting, reporting, and treatment planning from medical images, with the submission's...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Chest; abdomen; pelvis; and general patient anatomy represented in supported images
Decision
2025-09-15