FDA-cleared profile

SIS Software Version 3.6.0

Surgical Information Sciences, Inc.

SIS Software v3.6.0 displays, presents, documents, registers, fuses, and processes brain MR and postoperative CT images to support stereotactic neurosurgery and subthalamic-nucleus visualization.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
SIS Software v3.6.0 displays, presents, documents, registers, fuses, and processes brain MR and postoperative CT images to support stereotactic neurosurgery and subthalamic-nucleus visualization.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Intended users
Qualified radiologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and trained imaging or surgical staff.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Care setting and population
Hospital neuroimaging, stroke, neurosurgical, or stereotactic-planning workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Brain-image registration, segmentation, quantification, visualization, or procedure-planning support.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
Supported brain CT or MR images and associated clinical workflow data.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Output and human action
Registered images, segmentations, measurements, maps, or planning visualizations for professional review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Limitations
Use only supported MR and CT acquisitions and the labeled stereotactic workflow. Registration, electrode localization, anatomy, and surgical decisions require independent professional confirmation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K192304
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Anatomy
Brain
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2019-09-13
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM import and output to PACS, workstations, or surgical systems; validate series selection, orientation, registration, measurements, routing, latency, and failure handling.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Deployment and data flow
Software workstation, server, virtual appliance, or connected clinical application using the cleared release.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified radiologists, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and trained imaging or surgical staff should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Use only supported MR and CT acquisitions and the labeled stereotactic workflow. Registration, electrode localization, anatomy, and surgical decisions require independent professional confirmation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled AI functions to K192304 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM import and output to PACS, workstations, or surgical systems; validate series selection, orientation, registration, measurements, routing, latency, and failure handling.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally. The capability is derived from the exact FDA workflow and still requires local acceptance testing.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Use only supported MR and CT acquisitions and the labeled stereotactic workflow. Registration, electrode localization, anatomy, and surgical decisions require independent professional confirmation.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Use only supported MR and CT acquisitions and the labeled stereotactic workflow. Registration, electrode localization, anatomy, and surgical decisions require independent professional confirmation.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. The capability is derived from the exact FDA workflow and still requires local acceptance testing.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K192304 reports image registration, fusion, electrode or anatomy visualization, three-dimensional planning, and software verification and validation for the STN workflow. The public package does not establish a new clinical performance metric; registration and anatomy must be confirmed by the surgical team.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary endpoint for this system, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary endpoint for this system, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K192304 FDA performance package for SIS Software Version 3.6.0

Manufacturer brain-image registration, fusion, visualization, and software verification and validation · Brain MRI and postoperative CT workflows for stereotactic surgery and STN planning

exact submission · Tested version: SIS Software v3.6.0 · Sponsor or vendor study

K192304

Manufacturer evidence submitted for FDA clearance or approval; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Accuracy Evaluation for SIS Software-based Visualization of Anatomical Brain Structures

ClinicalTrials.gov candidate identified by exact-name search; full product and version applicability review pending · Brain or related Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list workflow; exact product and version linkage not established

product family · Tested version: Candidate source; exact FDA submission and product version not established · Independence not established

NCT02902328

Candidate source was found by automated exact-name search; product or version linkage and clinical endpoint were not independently established, so it must not be treated as exact-submission performance evidence.

Accuracy Evaluation of SIS Software-based Visualization of New Anatomical Brain Structure

ClinicalTrials.gov candidate identified by exact-name search; full product and version applicability review pending · Brain or related Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list workflow; exact product and version linkage not established

product family · Tested version: Candidate source; exact FDA submission and product version not established · Independence not established

NCT04814277

Candidate source was found by automated exact-name search; product or version linkage and clinical endpoint were not independently established, so it must not be treated as exact-submission performance evidence.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging, procedural, or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K192304 by exact submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
25Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Unreviewed PubMed leads
2Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Exact FDA decision materials were reviewed for identity, indication, users, workflow, limitations, and submitted performance. Current vendor material is labeled product-family context where it does not establish the exact release. PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov results are retained as candidate evidence with version applicability pending; CMS reimbursement context and exact-identifier openFDA postmarket results were also checked. Pricing, final security architecture, contracted services, enabled options, and local interoperability remain organization-specific evidence. Automated exact-name discovery found 0 PubMed and 2 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-03.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare