FDA-cleared profile

MRI Planner

Spectronic Medical AB

Authorized purpose: MRI Planner creates synthetic CT images for photon external-beam radiation planning from MRI and can generate healthy-structure contours for specified brain, head-and-neck, and pelvic workflows; it is not intended to contour tumors or clinical target volumes.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: MRI Planner creates synthetic CT images for photon external-beam radiation planning from MRI and can generate healthy-structure contours for specified brain, head-and-neck, and pelvic workflows; it is not intended to contour tumors or clinical target volumes.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: MRI Planner creates synthetic CT images for photon external-beam radiation planning from MRI and can generate healthy-structure contours for specified brain, head-and-neck, and pelvic workflows; it is not intended to contour tumors or clinical target volumes.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: K211841 reports 244 MR/CT patients for synthetic CT development and 175 MR patients for prostate contours. Dose testing included 58 pelvic and 75 brain or head-and-neck patients, with average dose differences near zero and high-dose gamma averages of 99.8% to 99.9%; auto-contour Dice values were 0.95 for bladder, 0.90 for colon, and 0.96 for femoral heads in 51 patients.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
MRI Planner creates synthetic CT images for photon external-beam radiation planning from MRI and can generate healthy-structure contours for specified brain, head-and-neck, and pelvic workflows; it is not intended to contour tumors or clinical target volumes.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled from the decision-summary packet.

Intended users
Trained radiation oncologists, dosimetrists and physicists.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact indications name these trained users and do not name radiation therapists.

Care setting and population
Radiation-oncology departments using MRI-only planning workflows and compatible treatment-planning systems.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
MRI-to-synthetic-CT conversion, contour support, and dose-planning support under qualified review.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
Based on a DICOM MR image stack, the software generates synthetic CT images and generates contours of anatomical structures in the MR image stack.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact device description supports a DICOM MR image-stack input; patient metadata and release-specific planning inputs are not stated.

Output and human action
The software generates synthetic CT images that can be used for attenuation calculations in radiotherapy treatment planning and generates contours of anatomical structures in the MR image stack, to be used as a starting point for the manual delineation work required in radiotherapy treatment planning.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact device description supports synthetic CT and contour outputs and describes contours as a starting point for manual delineation; it does not state approval or session-management wording.

Limitations
MRI Planner is not intended to automatically contour tumors or tumor clinical target volumes. MRI Planner does not display or store DICOM images. The user is advised to use existing softwares for radiotherapy treatment planning to display and modify generated images and contours.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact packet provides the tumor/CTV and display/storage boundaries and the instruction to use existing radiotherapy-planning software; qualified final approval wording is not stated.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K211841
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Anatomy
Brain
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact indications establish brain, head-neck, pelvis, and the prostate-patient bladder, colon, and femoral-head contour scope; the current brain-only anatomy is too narrow. Controlled directory display reconciled from exact FDA wording: MRI Planner is indicated for radiotherapy planning of adult patients for primary and metastatic cancers in the brain and head-neck regions, as well as soft tissue cancers in the pelvic region. MRI Planner generates synthetic CT images for radiation attenuation estimation purposes for the pelvis, brain and head-neck regions only. MRI Planner generates automatically derived contours of the bladder, colon and femoral heads, for prostate cancer patients only. -> Brain.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2022-08-25
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM MRI, synthetic CT, RTSTRUCT, and planning-system exchange; validate registration, patient identity, geometry, density assignment, dose, and export.
  • Public source
  • Product family
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Current vendor materials are product-family evidence for K211841; confirm the exact cleared version, enabled options, deployment, and local compatibility.

Deployment and data flow
Release-specific clinical software deployed on a workstation or server within the radiation-oncology network.
  • Public source
  • Product family
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Current vendor materials are product-family evidence for K211841; confirm the exact cleared version, enabled options, deployment, and local compatibility.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only qualified radiation oncologists, medical physicists, dosimetrists, and radiation therapists should operate or interpret the product. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Synthetic CT and auto-contours are limited to labeled anatomy and structures and are not tumor or clinical-target-volume delineation; qualified staff must verify images, contours, dose, and plans before treatment.
  • Public source
  • Product family
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Current vendor materials are product-family evidence for K211841; confirm the exact cleared version, enabled options, deployment, and local compatibility.

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled AI functions to K211841 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM MRI, synthetic CT, RTSTRUCT, and planning-system exchange; validate registration, patient identity, geometry, density assignment, dose, and export.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally. Vendor statements are current product-family context; confirm the exact cleared release and installed options.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Synthetic CT and auto-contours are limited to labeled anatomy and structures and are not tumor or clinical-target-volume delineation; qualified staff must verify images, contours, dose, and plans before treatment.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software, model, and algorithm version; patient population; anatomy; protocol; operator; input quality; output edits or overrides; failed studies; repeat acquisition or rework; downstream impact; downtime; incidents; recalls; and updates. Track these product-specific limits: Synthetic CT and auto-contours are limited to labeled anatomy and structures and are not tumor or clinical-target-volume delineation; qualified staff must verify images, contours, dose, and plans before treatment.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes. Vendor statements are current product-family context; confirm the exact cleared release and installed options.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
K211841 reports 244 MR/CT patients for synthetic CT development and 175 MR patients for prostate contours. Dose testing included 58 pelvic and 75 brain or head-and-neck patients, with average dose differences near zero and high-dose gamma averages of 99.8% to 99.9%; auto-contour Dice values were 0.95 for bladder, 0.90 for colon, and 0.96 for femoral heads in 51 patients.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary endpoint for this system, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary endpoint for this system, reconstruction, segmentation, guidance, or quantitative function. Use the task-specific evidence below.

Synthetic-CT training patients

244 patients

  • EndpointMR-to-synthetic-CT dataset
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

Pelvic dose cases

58 patients

  • EndpointDose comparison
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

Brain or head-and-neck dose cases

75 patients

  • EndpointDose comparison
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

Mean pelvic dose difference

0.02 %

  • EndpointSynthetic CT versus CT dose comparison
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

High-dose pelvic gamma average

99.9 %

  • EndpointSynthetic CT dose comparison
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

Bladder contour Dice

0.95 coefficient

  • EndpointAuto-contour overlap
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

Colon contour Dice

0.9 coefficient

  • EndpointAuto-contour overlap
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

Femoral-head contour Dice

0.96 coefficient

  • EndpointAuto-contour overlap
  • PopulationMRI Planner
  • Tested versionMRI Planner

K211841 FDA performance package for MRI Planner

  • DesignManufacturer synthetic-CT, dose-comparison, and auto-contour validation
  • Population244 MR/CT patients for synthetic CT, 175 for prostate contours, 58 pelvic and 75 brain or head-and-neck dose cases, and 51 contour cases
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionMRI Planner
  • IndependenceSponsor or vendor study

K211841

Manufacturer evidence submitted for FDA clearance or approval; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

3 unlinked candidate evidence records are retained for source review and excluded from this evidence display.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS radiation-oncology material. Evaluate net planning or delivery value within the radiotherapy service line.
  • Public source
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance or approval.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K211841 by exact submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later, or adverse-event information.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
28Fields reviewed
14Source classes checked
6Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains 6 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Discovery metadata alone does not establish exact tested-product, version, population, and endpoint applicability, so all candidates remain quarantined and none was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 6 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, vendor product page, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, fda decision summary packet, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K211841: MRI Planner

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2022-08-25 - Accessed 2026-09-19

    Scope: purpose, modality, evidenceSummary, anatomy, intendedUsers, input, output, limitations, clinicalUse

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  4. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  5. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  6. Radiation Oncology Model

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: reimbursement, radiationTherapyPaymentContext

  7. Spectronic MRI Planner

    Spectronic Medical - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: productFamilyContext, workflowRole, implementationCapabilities

  8. Head and neck cancer patient positioning using synthetic CT data in MRI-only radiation therapy.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  9. Evaluation of magnetic resonance imaging derived synthetic computed tomography for proton therapy planning in prostate cancer.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  10. Standardizing MRI-only radiotherapy commissioning: Benchmark dataset and acceptance levels from the MESCAL initiative.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  11. Feasibility of Magnetic Resonance-based Synthetic Computed Tomography for Proton Dose Calculation in Prostate Cancer.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  12. Clinical validation of a commercially available deep learning software for synthetic CT generation for brain.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

  13. Clinical implementation of deep learning-based synthetic CT for MRI-only volumetric modulated arc therapy in head and neck and pelvic cancer patients.

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: evidenceStudies, productFamilyContext, evidenceDiscovery

Research history

  1. K211841 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K193109

MRCAT brain

Philips Medical Systems MR Finland

Generation of MR-derived attenuation information for photon radiotherapy planning of primary and metastatic brain tumors.

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2020-01-24
FDA-cleared K252190

DeepBT Detector-Plus

Aitewan Biomedical Technology, Inc.

DeepBT Detector-Plus provides initial gross-tumor-volume contours on T1-weighted contrast-enhanced and optional T2-weighted MR images for radiation-treatment planning in adults...

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Brain tumors, including metastases, meningiomas, and acoustic neuromas
Decision
2026-04-10
FDA-cleared K252304

syngo.via RT Image Suite VC10

Varian Medical Systems, Inc.

syngo.via RT Image Suite VC10 provides three-dimensional and four-dimensional multimodality visualization, registration, fusion, contouring, and planning support for...

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Brain, pelvis, thorax, abdomen, targets, organs at risk, and moving tumors or organs
Decision
2026-03-18