FDA-cleared profile

FlightPlan for Embolization

GE Medical Systems SCS

Authorized purpose: Post-processes 3D X-ray angiography to help physicians visualize vasculature during embolization planning.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Post-processes 3D X-ray angiography to help physicians visualize vasculature during embolization planning.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Post-processes 3D X-ray angiography to help physicians visualize vasculature during embolization planning.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA reported 207 unique-patient contrast-injected CBCT scans, with vessel-extraction success of 93.7% and root-definition success of 95.2%; diagnostic sensitivity and specificity were not reported.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Post-processes 3D X-ray angiography to help physicians visualize vasculature during embolization planning.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled in this remediation finding.

Intended users
Physicians.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA packet user statement.

Care setting and population
Adult
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Patient-population text reported in the exact-submission ACR model card; institutional setting may still require vendor confirmation.

Workflow role
Segmentation or contouring
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Conservative normalization of explicit wording in an exact-submission source.

Required input
Contrast-injected 3D X-ray angiography or CBCT acquired during embolization planning.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Exact FDA input scope.

Output and human action
Segmented vasculature, selective proximal/distal vessel display, and user-defined data export for guidance.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA device-description scope.

Limitations
For planning only; injection points require independent confirmation before therapy, and the AI segmentation option was validated for adults only.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Exact FDA limitation boundary.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K223490
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
CBCT
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA 3D X-ray angiography/CBCT normalized to the controlled CBCT bucket.

Anatomy
Vasculature throughout the body
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

FDA packet scope.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-03-21
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Standards-based DICOM/PACS integration was identified in the FDA submission materials; compatibility with a specific PACS, RIS, EHR, or orchestrator requires confirmation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Normalized from the prior exact-submission review. Confirm interface versions and local compatibility during technical evaluation.

Deployment and data flow
On-premise
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for FlightPlan for Embolization; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA reported 207 unique-patient contrast-injected CBCT scans, with vessel-extraction success of 93.7% and root-definition success of 95.2%; diagnostic sensitivity and specificity were not reported.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-15

Algorithm success rates are not diagnostic performance metrics.

Reported sensitivity
N/A- not diagnostic application
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Model sensitivity reported by ACR AI Central. Review endpoint, threshold, study population, and tested version before comparison.

Reported specificity
N/A- not diagnostic application
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Model specificity reported by ACR AI Central. Review endpoint, threshold, study population, and tested version before comparison.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Embo ASSIST AI regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-alone performance and reader study (ACR AI Central category)
  • PopulationAdult
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionvxtl_17.0-4.24
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K223490

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K223490 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K223490. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
26Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, fda decision summary packet, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K223490: FlightPlan for Embolization

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2023-03-21 - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation, purpose, intendedUsers, input, output, limitations, evidenceSummary

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Embo ASSIST AI model card (K223490)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, limitations, reportedSensitivity, reportedSpecificity, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K223490

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K223490 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K250755

DS Core Diagnosis

Dentsply Sirona Inc.

Displays and supports interpretation of digital/digitized dental media, including CBCT and other 2D/3D X-ray images; its Panoramic Curve Proposal generates a proposed dental-arch...

Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Dental/Maxillofacial
Decision
2025-08-12
FDA-cleared K243989

Second Opinion® 3D

Pearl, Inc.

Second Opinion 3D processes dental CBCT radiographs to identify and mark dentition, maxilla, mandible, inferior alveolar canal and mental foramen, maxillary sinus, nasal space,...

Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Dental and craniomaxillofacial anatomy
Decision
2025-05-23
FDA-cleared K233925

Relu Creator

Relu BV

Relu Creator manages, transfers, displays, enhances, and analyzes dental and craniomaxillofacial image information and provides design input for dental solutions within the...

Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Dental/Maxillofacial
Decision
2024-06-13
FDA-cleared K260785

DS Core CBCT Anatomy

Dentsply Sirona

DS Core CBCT Anatomy uses CBCT and digital-impression data to provide tooth and jaw segmentation, inferior-alveolar-nerve-canal segmentation, panoramic-curve support, and...

Modality
CBCT
Anatomy
Teeth; jaws; and the inferior alveolar nerve canal
Decision
2026-04-23