FDA-cleared profile

Customize

3D-Side SA

Customize supports adult shoulder arthroplasty planning with CT segmentation, 3D humerus and scapula models, implant positioning and sizing, and physician plan approval.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Customize supports adult shoulder arthroplasty planning with CT segmentation, 3D humerus and scapula models, implant positioning and sizing, and physician plan approval.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Intended users
Experienced physicians and supporting 3D-Side personnel involved in shoulder arthroplasty planning.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Care setting and population
Preoperative orthopaedic planning workflows for adult shoulder arthroplasty.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Collaborative review and modification of CT-derived 3D shoulder models and implant plans before surgery.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
Multislice DICOM CT, CT-derived 3D CAD files, and implant-library models.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Output and human action
Physician-approved shoulder arthroplasty treatment plan stored on the server for reference during surgery.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Limitations
Not for diagnosis, spine surgery, or implant and instrument design. The FDA summary reports nonclinical validation but does not disclose numerical segmentation, repeatability, or 3D-model accuracy results.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K213779
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
CT/CTA
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Anatomy
Shoulder
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2022-03-16
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM CT, 3D CAD visualization, implant library, server case management, and approval workflow; validate geometry, catalog version, revision control, physician sign-off, and surgical access.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Deployment and data flow
Server-backed software interface supporting clinician and manufacturer collaboration; verify the exact hosting and support model.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
Vendor confirmation Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this batch do not establish the complete security posture for the exact release. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, support-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only experienced physicians and supporting 3d-side personnel involved in shoulder arthroplasty planning. should operate or interpret the system. Local onboarding should cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track the limits that matter for this product: Not for diagnosis, spine surgery, or implant and instrument design. The FDA summary reports nonclinical validation but does not disclose numerical segmentation, repeatability, or 3D-model accuracy results.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

Release and scope verification

Map the installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, and outputs to K213779 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM CT, 3D CAD visualization, implant library, server case management, and approval workflow; validate geometry, catalog version, revision control, physician sign-off, and surgical access.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. Not for diagnosis, spine surgery, or implant and instrument design. The FDA summary reports nonclinical validation but does not disclose numerical segmentation, repeatability, or 3D-model accuracy results.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Vendor productivity claims are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact hardware, software and model version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track the limits that matter for this product: Not for diagnosis, spine surgery, or implant and instrument design. The FDA summary reports nonclinical validation but does not disclose numerical segmentation, repeatability, or 3D-model accuracy results.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
K213779 reports software verification and validation, shoulder segmentation validation, repeatability and reproducibility testing, and 3D humerus and scapula model-accuracy testing. No clinical study or numerical performance result is disclosed.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not the primary applicable endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, planning, guidance, or quantitative-biomarker function. Use the task-specific endpoints and tested population reported below.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not the primary applicable endpoint for this acquisition, reconstruction, segmentation, planning, guidance, or quantitative-biomarker function. Use the task-specific endpoints and tested population reported below.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

K213779 FDA performance package for Customize

Manufacturer nonclinical segmentation, repeatability, reproducibility, and 3D-model accuracy testing · Adult shoulder arthroplasty CT studies representative of the intended workflow

exact submission · Tested version: Customize for shoulder arthroplasty cleared in K213779 · Sponsor or vendor study

K213779

Manufacturer evidence submitted for substantial equivalence; local clinical, technical, and workflow acceptance remains necessary.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, enabled features, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the device within the applicable imaging or surgical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, and coding assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K213779 by exact submission identifier.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-03

A zero-result exact-identifier search does not prove that no recall, correction, adverse-event report, or product-family safety signal exists.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Human reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
24Fields reviewed
8Source classes checked
20Unreviewed PubMed leads
10Unreviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Recovered from the prior exact-submission extraction and normalized under the current provenance rules. Exact FDA materials, current product-family sources, selected clinical literature, reimbursement context, and exact-identifier recall candidates were reviewed. Pricing, contracted services, enabled options, final security architecture, and local interoperability remain organization-specific evidence. Automated exact-name discovery found 20 PubMed and 10 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Candidates require human product and version matching; zero candidates is not evidence that no studies exist. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads remain unpublished until a human confirms the exact product and tested version.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, vendor product page, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-03.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K252029

AI-CVD

HeartLung Corporation

AI-CVD provides automated quantitative CT-derived anatomical and density measurements for clinician review, including calcium scores, cardiac and vascular measurements, lung and...

Modality
CT/CTA
Anatomy
Chest, abdomen, heart, lungs, liver, aorta, pulmonary artery, bone, muscle, and fat
Decision
2025-12-19