FDA-cleared profile

Clarius Median Nerve AI

Clarius Mobile Health Corp.

Authorized purpose: Segmentation and semi-automatic, non-invasive median-nerve cross-sectional-area measurement during ultrasound acquisition.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Segmentation and semi-automatic, non-invasive median-nerve cross-sectional-area measurement during ultrasound acquisition.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Segmentation and semi-automatic, non-invasive median-nerve cross-sectional-area measurement during ultrasound acquisition.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA packet: retrospective clinical verification of 182 ultrasound images from 126 subjects collected across multiple clinical sites, with three expert reviewers. The primary endpoint tested non-inferiority of automated cross-sectional-area measurement against the human-reviewer mean using a 3 mm² equivalence/error margin; a separate simulated-use clinical validation used production-equivalent systems and tested the intended measurement workflow.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Segmentation and semi-automatic, non-invasive median-nerve cross-sectional-area measurement during ultrasound acquisition.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Intended users
Healthcare professionals trained and qualified in ultrasound, including users with musculoskeletal ultrasound training
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Care setting and population
Professional musculoskeletal-ultrasound workflow for adult patients; the FDA packet does not specify a particular facility type
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Workflow role
Real-time, acquisition-time assistive segmentation and measurement; the user can adjust calipers and retains responsibility for clinical validity and decisions
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Required input
Ultrasound data acquired by Clarius linear-array transducers L7 HD3, L15 HD3, or L20 HD3, with transverse median-nerve views at the forearm and wrist; labeled use is adult patients only.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Output and human action
A segmentation mask on the ultrasound image, automatically placed calipers, a median-nerve cross-sectional-area measurement in mm², and user-adjustable caliper placement with the saved measurement.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Limitations
The device is not stand-alone and is integrated into the Clarius App and scanner system. It is for adults only; inadequate-quality images and incomplete anatomy or views were excluded from clinical measurement comparison. The clinician must confirm the measurement using standard practice and judgment, and the device does not replace clinical decision-making.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K250226
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Ultrasound
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Anatomy
Median nerve in the forearm and wrist
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2025-05-08
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
Integrated into the Clarius App and complete Clarius Ultrasound Scanner system on iOS or Android, with the listed L7 HD3, L15 HD3, and L20 HD3 transducers; the FDA packet does not establish a stand-alone PACS/RIS/EHR interface.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Deployment and data flow
On-cloud
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for Clarius Median Nerve AI; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-08

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA packet: retrospective clinical verification of 182 ultrasound images from 126 subjects collected across multiple clinical sites, with three expert reviewers. The primary endpoint tested non-inferiority of automated cross-sectional-area measurement against the human-reviewer mean using a 3 mm² equivalence/error margin; a separate simulated-use clinical validation used production-equivalent systems and tested the intended measurement workflow.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08
Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

Clarius Median Nerve AI regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationAdult
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K250226
  • Samplen=182
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K250226

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

No public price or quote for the exact K250226 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K250226. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-08

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
23Fields reviewed
9Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K250226: Clarius Median Nerve AI

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2025-05-08 - Accessed 2026-09-08

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. Clarius Median Nerve AI model card (K250226)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-08-17 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: intendedUsers, careSetting, output, limitations, evidenceSummary, anatomy, evidenceStudies

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K250226

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-08

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K250226 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K252237

EdgeFlow UW20

Edgecare, Inc.

EdgeFlow UW20 is a wearable ultrasound system for noninvasive periodic bladder-volume measurement in adults with BMI no greater than 30.

Modality
Ultrasound
Anatomy
Urinary bladder
Decision
2026-04-17