FDA-cleared profile

Brainlab Elements Image Fusion, Contouring (4.5);Image Fusion (4.5);Fibertracking (2.0);BOLD MRI Mapping (1.0);Image Fusion Angio (1.0)

Brainlab AG

Brainlab Elements are software applications for processing medical-image data to support image-guided surgery and radiation-treatment planning; the exact submission includes contouring, rigid and deformable image fusion, DTI fiber tracking, task-based BOLD MRI mapping, and cerebrovascular image co-registration.

Evidence status: each field shows source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established in reviewed sources, and vendor documentation pending are distinct outcomes.

Clinical fit

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Brainlab Elements are software applications for processing medical-image data to support image-guided surgery and radiation-treatment planning; the exact submission includes contouring, rigid and deformable image fusion, DTI fiber tracking, task-based BOLD MRI mapping, and cerebrovascular image co-registration.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Intended users
Trained radiologists, neurosurgeons, radiation oncologists, radiation therapists, and other qualified healthcare professionals using image-guided planning workflows.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Prior source-backed dossier value: Trained healthcare professionals, physicians, technicians, surgeons, or other users specified by the exact submission.

Care setting and population
Healthcare institution, clinical image-review, surgical-planning, or other labeled environment.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Workflow role
Views and processes DICOM images, performs registration, segmentation, fiber tracking, BOLD mapping, and 3D visualization for professional planning and review.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Prior source-backed dossier value: Medical-image viewing, processing, segmentation, measurement, registration, communication, or planning support within the exact labeled scope.

Required input
DICOM medical-image data from the supported image-guided surgery and radiation-treatment planning workflows, including MRI, angiographic, and diffusion data where applicable.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Prior source-backed dossier value: DICOM or other medical-image data from the exact labeled modalities, scanners, and user workflow.

Output and human action
2D and 3D views, co-registrations, segmentations, fiber tracks, BOLD activation maps, and a 3D DICOM segmentation object for downstream professional use.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Prior source-backed dossier value: Images, measurements, segmentations, models, reports, or planning information for professional review.

Limitations
The exact supported applications, modalities, anatomy, protocols, options, and review path are submission-specific; outputs require professional review and do not establish a general product-wide sensitivity or specificity.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Prior source-backed dossier value: Supported modalities, modules, anatomy, patient population, and output use are submission-specific; source images and generated results require expert review.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K223106
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Anatomy
Patient medical-image data for image-guided surgery and radiation-treatment planning, including cranial white matter, task-based BOLD MRI, and cerebrovascular data
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Clearance type
510(k)
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2023-07-14
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The exact FDA material describes processing of medical-image data and DICOM-supported modules; local image import, export, treatment-planning connection, identity, and display require confirmation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

This is the interface boundary described in the exact FDA decision material; current local compatibility, routing, identity, archive, and downtime behavior still require acceptance testing.

Deployment and data flow
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact deployment topology, hosting, network boundaries, PHI flow, retention, update mechanism, and local operational requirements are not established for this submission. The exact public FDA decision material does not establish the complete deployment topology, hosting responsibility, availability, upgrade path, or service contract.

Security and privacy
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Public sources reviewed here do not establish the complete exact-release security posture, including identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote access, vulnerability management, backup, or incident response. Public materials reviewed for this exact release do not establish the complete security posture. Request data-flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, remote-access, vulnerability-management, backup, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only Trained radiologists, neurosurgeons, radiation oncologists, radiation therapists, and other qualified healthcare professionals using image-guided planning workflows should operate or interpret the product; local onboarding must cover the exact release, supported population, limitations, failure examples, escalation, downtime, and competency documentation.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04
Monitoring and change control
Monitor K223106 by exact hardware, software, model, algorithm version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates. Track these product-specific limits: The exact supported applications, modalities, anatomy, protocols, options, and review path are submission-specific; outputs require professional review and do not establish a general product-wide sensitivity or specificity.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Buyer-facing monitoring guidance derived from the exact cleared scope; it is not a claim that the FDA package provides a live monitoring service.

Workflow role

Medical-image viewing, processing, segmentation, measurement, registration, communication, or planning support within the exact labeled scope.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Submission-anchored workflow summary, not a local acceptance or deployment result.

Input

DICOM or other medical-image data from the exact labeled modalities, scanners, and user workflow.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Exact supported inputs and protocol limits must be confirmed from the complete labeling.

Output

Images, measurements, segmentations, models, reports, or planning information for professional review.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Output review, editing, approval, export, and downstream use remain release- and site-specific.

Deployment evidence

Exact deployment topology and operational boundaries remain unestablished.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Confirm hosting, PHI flow, retention, access, updates, downtime, and support obligations before procurement or clinical use.

Integration evidence

The exact FDA material describes processing of medical-image data and DICOM-supported modules; local image import, export, treatment-planning connection, identity, and display require confirmation.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Validate the local workflow against the exact release and enabled options.

Vendor family context

Current vendor material is product-family context for K223106 only; exact release, enabled options, deployment, security, interoperability, pricing, and local workflow require confirmation.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

Vendor material is not exact-release evidence unless that linkage is separately proven.

Release and scope verification

Map installed model, build, options, population, anatomy, inputs, outputs, and enabled functions to K223106 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Later product-family features are not evidence that this cleared release includes them.

Deployment boundary

The exact public deployment topology remains incomplete; establish hosting responsibility, data flow, availability, upgrade, service, and downtime boundaries locally.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

FDA-described deployment boundaries do not establish current hosting contracts, security controls, uptime, or local qualification.

Interoperability acceptance

The FDA material describes DICOM transfer to and from PACS or storage, image viewing and processing, co-registration, segmentation, and 3D DICOM output.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Test representative identifiers, orientation, geometry, measurements, units, routing, failure handling, and round trips locally.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set for the supported population and workflow. Include common and difficult cases, exclusions, acquisition variation, failed or low-quality inputs, reviewer overrides, and downstream effects. The exact supported applications, modalities, anatomy, protocols, options, and review path are submission-specific; outputs require professional review and do not establish a general product-wide sensitivity or specificity.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model capital and recurring cost against net staff time after review, throughput, repeat imaging or rework, room time, consumables, infrastructure, training, service, downtime, upgrade, and replacement costs.

product family · checked 2026-09-04

No exact-product price was found in the reviewed public material; productivity or value claims require local evidence.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor K223106 by exact hardware, software, model, algorithm version, patient population, anatomy, protocol, operator, input quality, output edits or overrides, failed studies, repeat acquisition or rework, downstream impact, downtime, incidents, recalls, and updates.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-04

Revalidate after material software, hardware, model, protocol, interface, or clinical-policy changes.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version.

Evidence summary
The K223106 FDA decision material supports the exact Elements 6.0 applications and submission-specific verification or validation; it does not establish a general product-wide sensitivity, specificity, clinical outcome, or current deployment topology.
FDA source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Prior source-backed dossier value: The exact FDA decision material for K223106 supports the submission-specific intended use and regulatory verification summarized here; it does not establish a general product-wide sensitivity or specificity value.

Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No exact-submission and version-linked sensitivity endpoint is promoted; candidate or product-family values were not substituted. Sensitivity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if later verified.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
Not applicable Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No exact-submission and version-linked specificity endpoint is promoted; candidate or product-family values were not substituted. Specificity is not promoted as a product-wide endpoint. Compare only an exact endpoint, threshold, population, version, and source if later verified.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

FDA submission-specific verification and validation evidence for K223106

FDA 510(k) regulatory decision material and submission-specific verification or validation evidence for K223106; this is regulatory evidence, not an independent clinical effectiveness study. · The labeled population, anatomy, images, and test materials described in the exact FDA decision material for K223106; a broader clinical population is not established here.

exact submission · Tested version: Brainlab Elements Image Fusion, Contouring (4.5);Image Fusion (4.5);Fibertracking (2.0);BOLD MRI Mapping (1.0);Image Fusion Angio (1.0) (K223106) · Sponsor or vendor study

K223106

The exact FDA material is submission-specific and should not be generalized to other versions, enabled options, sites, protocols, or clinical outcomes.

Economics and lifecycle

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
Reviewed sources checked Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

No public exact-release price, license fee, subscription, contract, or implementation cost was established in this review. No public list price for the exact cleared configuration was found. Obtain a written quote separating hardware or license basis, implementation, interfaces, infrastructure, training, service, upgrades, renewal, consumables, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS coverage material. Evaluate the product within the applicable imaging or clinical service line and verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.
Public source Not applicable Checked 2026-09-04

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed public material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

This is not a product-specific reimbursement determination. Verify payer, site-of-service, coding, and coverage assumptions independently.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K223106 by exact native submission identifier. This does not exclude product-family, later-version, or adverse-event information.
Public source Exact FDA submission Checked 2026-09-04

Exact-identifier review does not prove absence of all product-family safety signals.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-04Last searched
33Fields reviewed
12Source classes checked
20Reviewed PubMed leads
10Reviewed trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

Screened 20 PubMed and 10 ClinicalTrials.gov records. The records are generic image-fusion or unrelated clinical studies and do not identify the exact Brainlab Elements applications, tested versions, or K223106; all 30 were quarantined and none was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 20 PubMed and 10 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, fda decision material, peer reviewed literature, clinical trial registry, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, vendor product page, implementation documentation, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources

Source ledger

Sources accessed through 2026-09-04.

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K250237

InferOperate Suite

Beijing Infervision Healthcare Medical Technology Co., Ltd.

InferOperate Suite supports trained healthcare professionals in reading, interpreting, reporting, and treatment planning from medical images, with the submission's...

Modality
Radiological images; modality varies or is not specified in FDA list
Anatomy
Chest; abdomen; pelvis; and general patient anatomy represented in supported images
Decision
2025-09-15