FDA-cleared profile

BrainInsight

Hyperfine, Inc.

Authorized purpose: Automatically labels, spatially measures, and volumetrically quantifies brain structures from low-field MR images and returns annotated/segmented images, color overlays, and reports.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: Automatically labels, spatially measures, and volumetrically quantifies brain structures from low-field MR images and returns annotated/segmented images, color overlays, and reports.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: Automatically labels, spatially measures, and volumetrically quantifies brain structures from low-field MR images and returns annotated/segmented images, color overlays, and reports.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA reports separate test data, midline-shift MAE of 1.03 mm (T1) and 0.97 mm (T2), and structure Dice/volume comparisons; sample size and diagnostic sensitivity/specificity are not reported.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
Automatically labels, spatially measures, and volumetrically quantifies brain structures from low-field MR images and returns annotated/segmented images, color overlays, and reports.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled in this remediation finding.

Intended users
Physician; broader intended-user class is unknown.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

FDA comparison describes the output as being for the physician.

Care setting and population
Adult
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Patient-population text reported in the exact-submission ACR model card; institutional setting may still require vendor confirmation.

Workflow role
Segmentation or contouring
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Conservative normalization of explicit wording in an exact-submission source.

Required input
Low-field MR images, including AI-reconstructed low-field MR; FDA comparison identifies Hyperfine Swoop FSE MRI with specified protocols.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

FDA input and acquisition scope.

Output and human action
Annotated and segmented images, color overlays, morphometric/volumetric results, and reports, including DICOM results.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

FDA output description.

Limitations
Adult population >=18 and specified low-field MR scope; additional FDA limitation text is not stated.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

FDA packet scope, with unstated additional limitations left unknown.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K220815
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
MRI
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

FDA low-field MR scope.

Anatomy
Brain
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

FDA target-anatomical-site field.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2022-07-19
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
The exact-submission ACR model card explicitly references DICOM and PACS in the described input, output, or workflow; exact interfaces, versions, and local compatibility require confirmation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-01

Interoperability terms explicitly reported in the exact-submission ACR model card; interface versions and local compatibility still require confirmation.

Deployment and data flow
On-cloud
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-13

Deployment category preserved from the prior exact-submission review; hosting region, data flow, and current commercial configuration still require vendor confirmation.

Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Exact-release security controls, data retention, hosting boundaries, and scoped assurance documentation require vendor confirmation.

Training and support
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current training prerequisites, competency checks, and support commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Monitoring and change control
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Current drift, quality, uptime, alert, escalation, and incident-response commitments for the exact configuration require vendor confirmation.

Input or output interoperability

DICOM is explicitly referenced in the described input, output, or workflow.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

The model card does not establish every supported DICOM object, transfer method, or local interface.

Result destination

PACS is explicitly referenced as a result destination.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm supported products, versions, routing behavior, and display requirements during local evaluation.

Supported acquisition environment

Scanner manufacturers: All

exact submission · checked 2026-09-01

Confirm currently supported software versions, protocols, and site-specific acquisition configurations.

ACR exact-submission catalog context

ACR AI Central provides an exact-submission model card for BrainInsight; FDA labeling remains controlling for clinical use, limitations, and performance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-09

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA reports separate test data, midline-shift MAE of 1.03 mm (T1) and 0.97 mm (T2), and structure Dice/volume comparisons; sample size and diagnostic sensitivity/specificity are not reported.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Submission-reported FDA evidence summary.

Reported sensitivity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

Reported specificity
Research pending
  • Needs research
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

This field has not been curated yet.

No contextualized exact-version metric has completed evidence review. Regulatory-document values, when available, are shown above with their limitations.

BrainInsight regulatory performance study summary

  • DesignStand-Alone Performance
  • PopulationAdult
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionExact product version not reported; regulatory study summarized for FDA submission K220815
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

K220815

ACR AI Central summarizes the regulatory study; consult the exact FDA materials before comparative use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No public price or quote for the exact K220815 configuration was established in this review.

Reimbursement and coding
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

No exact-product payer policy, coding instruction, or payment determination was established; eligibility must be evaluated by payer, site of service, and use case.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The exact-identifier FDA recall query returned no native recall record for K220815. This limited result does not establish absence of recalls or other safety information and does not cover later versions, family records, MAUDE reports, corrections, or field notices.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-09

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
24Fields reviewed
10Source classes checked
0Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains no PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov candidates; no external evidence was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 0 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, acr ai central product, fda device recall, literature index, trial registry, fda decision summary packet, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K220815: BrainInsight

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2022-07-19 - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: identity, clinicalUse, modality, anatomy, workflow, evidence, implementation, purpose, intendedUsers, input, output, limitations, evidenceSummary

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. BrainInsight model card (K220815)

    American College of Radiology - Published 2026-06-26 - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: careSetting, output, limitations, evidenceSummary, integration, anatomy, evidenceStudies, implementationCapabilities

  4. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  5. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  6. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  7. openFDA exact recall query for K220815

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-09

    Scope: postmarketSafety

Research history

  1. K220815 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K261405

ANDI 2.2

Imeka Solutions, Inc.

ANDI 2.2 processes brain MR images for atlas-assisted visualization, segmentation and volumetric quantification, presenting adjunctive DICOM-readable information for trained...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-28
FDA-cleared K260032

Morph

BeauBrain Healthcare, Inc.

Morph automatically labels, visualizes, and volumetrically quantifies segmentable brain structures from MR images and may compare measurements with reference percentile data; it...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-05-13
FDA-cleared K253057

AI-Rad Companion Brain MR

Siemens Healthcare GmbH

Brain MRI morphometry and white matter hyperintensity quantification, including normative comparison and longitudinal change assessment for clinician review.

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2026-01-22
FDA-cleared K252298

ANDI 2.0

Imeka Solutions, Inc.

Adjunctive quantitative brain MRI analysis that compares patient measures with normative and longitudinal references; a physician reviews all results and makes the clinical...

Modality
MRI
Anatomy
Brain
Decision
2025-10-22