FDA-cleared profile

AI-Rad Companion Organs RT

Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc

Authorized purpose: AI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA40 automatically contours predefined structures from adult DICOM CT for qualified review and DICOM RTSTRUCT transfer; this release added 29 head-and-neck structures and does not detect or contour lesions.

Evidence status: each field states its source quality, applicability, and review date. Research pending, information not established, and vendor documentation pending remain distinct outcomes.

Product overview

Start with the essentials

Authorized purpose: AI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA40 automatically contours predefined structures from adult DICOM CT for qualified review and DICOM RTSTRUCT transfer; this release added 29 head-and-neck structures and does not detect or contour lesions.

Overview status: Source-reviewed overview

Clinical takeaway

Clinical role: AI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA40 automatically contours predefined structures from adult DICOM CT for qualified review and DICOM RTSTRUCT transfer; this release added 29 head-and-neck structures and does not detect or contour lesions.

Evidence takeaway

Evidence from the reviewed source record: FDA summaries describe locked algorithms, software verification, DICOM testing, and release-specific validation of added structures. A multi-institutional publication and a blinded multi-vendor study support clinical usability while showing organ-level variation and continuing need for expert review; neither establishes autonomous use or patient-outcome benefit.

Clinical details

What this tool is for

Start with the authorized purpose, then verify how it fits your service line and reading workflow.

Exact purpose
AI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA40 automatically contours predefined structures from adult DICOM CT for qualified review and DICOM RTSTRUCT transfer; this release added 29 head-and-neck structures and does not detect or contour lesions.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Clinical-use display mirrors the exact FDA-supported purpose reconciled from the decision-summary packet.

Intended users
Trained medical professionals.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact indication states that RTSTRUCT outputs are intended to be used by trained medical professionals.

Care setting and population
Radiation-therapy departments in hospitals, clinics, and other qualified treatment-planning facilities.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Workflow role
Automated predefined-structure contour generation before treatment planning
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Required input
Adult DICOM CT image series.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Output and human action
DICOM RT Structure Set contours sent to a configurable DICOM node, commonly a treatment-planning system, after review in the results-confirmation workflow.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Limitations
AI-Rad Companion Organs RT must be used with appropriate software such as Treatment Planning Systems and Interactive Contouring applications to review, edit, and accept contours; the software is not intended to automatically detect or contour lesions; only DICOM images of adult patients are valid input.
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

These workflow, lesion, and adult-input boundaries are stated directly in the exact indication and device description.

Regulatory identity

FDA record and catalog context

The FDA listing establishes the regulatory identity. It does not by itself establish local workflow fit, pricing, security, or performance in your environment.

FDA submission
K221305
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

The exact indication and device description identify DICOM CT input and the external-beam radiation-therapy planning workflow. Controlled directory display reconciled from exact FDA wording: CT imaging data in DICOM format for external beam radiation therapy treatment planning. -> Radiotherapy Planning Imaging.

Anatomy
Multi-region
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-19

Exact FDA decision-summary packet reviewed on 2026-09-19; existing wording is supported without expansion.

Clearance type
510(k)
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
Decision date
2022-10-14
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31
FDA status
FDA-cleared
  • FDA source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-08-31

Implementation

Questions for IT, informatics, and operations

Use these fields to structure a vendor demo, security review, and implementation estimate.

Integration
DICOM CT or MR input, DICOM RTSTRUCT output, configurable DICOM-node transfer, organ-template configuration, and a web-based confirmation interface.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Deployment and data flow
FDA summaries describe cloud deployment for the early lineage and edge-plus-cloud deployment for later releases. Validate data routing, queue behavior, identity controls, downtime procedures, and the exact hosting model for the installed version.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Security and privacy
Vendor documentation pending
  • Vendor confirmation
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Public materials reviewed for this batch do not establish the complete security posture for the exact release. Request architecture, data flow, identity, audit, encryption, retention, support-access, vulnerability-management, and incident-response evidence.

Training and support
Only trained and qualified radiation-therapy professionals should operate the software and review, correct, and approve its outputs. Local onboarding must include release-specific limitations, failure examples, escalation, and competency documentation.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Monitoring and change control
Monitor by exact software and model version, anatomy, structure, scanner and protocol, patient position, contrast, unusual or postsurgical anatomy, reviewer role, edit time, rejected outputs, DICOM-transfer failures, downstream plan effects, incidents, recalls, and updates. Revalidate after material workflow or model changes.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Release and scope verification

VA40 added analysis of 29 head-and-neck structures while retaining locked CT models and mandatory review in a treatment-planning or interactive-contouring application. Procurement should map the installed build, modules, models, anatomies, inputs, and outputs to K221305 before acceptance.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Later product-family features are not evidence that an earlier cleared release includes them.

Interoperability acceptance

DICOM CT or MR input, DICOM RTSTRUCT output, configurable DICOM-node transfer, organ-template configuration, and a web-based confirmation interface.

exact submission · checked 2026-09-03

Test representative imports, exports, identifiers, orientation, geometry, structure names, units, failure handling, and round trips in the local environment.

Clinical acceptance

Use a signed local test set spanning supported anatomies, scanners, protocols, unusual or postsurgical anatomy, and small or complex structures. Measure edit burden, rejection, downstream plan effects, and reviewer agreement rather than relying only on average overlap metrics.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Define stop-use, escalation, rollback, and revalidation triggers before production use.

Economic evaluation

Model total annual and per-plan cost against hands-on and elapsed time after review, correction, failed transfers, rework, support, upgrades, downtime, and any effect on plan quality or throughput.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Vendor time-saving results are scenario inputs, not guaranteed local savings.

Lifecycle monitoring

Monitor by exact software and model version, anatomy, structure, scanner and protocol, patient position, contrast, unusual or postsurgical anatomy, reviewer role, edit time, rejected outputs, DICOM-transfer failures, downstream plan effects, incidents, recalls, and updates. Revalidate after material workflow or model changes.

product family · checked 2026-09-03

Trend failures and edits by exact software version, model, anatomy, scanner, protocol, and site.

Evidence

Performance evidence

Metrics are shown only when they are tied to a source, endpoint, population, and tested product version. Candidate literature without exact product and version linkage is not shown as product evidence.

Evidence summary
FDA summaries describe locked algorithms, software verification, DICOM testing, and release-specific validation of added structures. A multi-institutional publication and a blinded multi-vendor study support clinical usability while showing organ-level variation and continuing need for expert review; neither establishes autonomous use or patient-outcome benefit.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03
Reported sensitivity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Sensitivity is not an applicable primary endpoint for this radiation-planning software. Review structure-, model-, workflow-, and release-specific geometric, clinical-review, dosimetric, and edit-burden evidence instead.

Reported specificity
Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

Specificity is not an applicable primary endpoint for this radiation-planning software. Review structure-, model-, workflow-, and release-specific geometric, clinical-review, dosimetric, and edit-burden evidence instead.

Added head-and-neck structures

29 structures

  • EndpointAdditional head-and-neck structures analyzed versus VA20
  • PopulationAI-Rad Companion Organs RT testing described in K221305
  • Tested versionAI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA40

Structures in multi-institutional evaluation

33 organs

  • EndpointOrgans evaluated by experienced radiation oncologists
  • PopulationMulti-region radiotherapy cases
  • Tested versionAI-Rad Companion Organs RT product family; exact build not reported

Structures averaging at least 3.5

19 organs

  • EndpointStructures with mean clinical rating at or above 3.5 on a four-point scale
  • PopulationProduct-family clinical evaluation
  • Tested versionAI-Rad Companion Organs RT product family; exact build not reported

K221305 FDA performance package for AI-Rad Companion Organs RT

  • DesignManufacturer software verification and locked-model validation for release-specific CT or MR structures
  • PopulationRelease-specific predefined CT or MR structures described in the FDA summary
  • Scopeexact submission
  • Tested versionAI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA40
  • IndependenceSponsor or vendor study

K221305

Manufacturer evidence submitted for substantial equivalence. VA40 added analysis of 29 head-and-neck structures while retaining locked CT models and mandatory review in a treatment-planning or interactive-contouring application.

Multi-institutional evaluation of AI-Rad Companion Organs RT

  • DesignMulti-institutional clinical evaluation with three board-certified radiation-oncologist reviewers
  • PopulationThirty-three organs at risk spanning multiple anatomic regions
  • Scopeproduct family
  • Tested versionAI-Rad Companion Organs RT product family; exact relationship to each cleared release must be checked
  • IndependenceIndependence not established

PMID 39023610

Nineteen structures averaged at least 3.5 on a four-point scale and the remainder at least 3.0; review author affiliations and exact software version before procurement use.

Costs and setup

Budget and ongoing governance

These are common procurement questions; unknown values remain visible until a source supports them.

Pricing and total cost
Not established in reviewed sources
  • Reviewed sources checked
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No public list price for the exact cleared release was found. Obtain a written quote separating license basis, sites or users, enabled modules or models, implementation, interfaces, compute, storage, training, support, upgrades, renewal, and exit costs.

Reimbursement and coding
No separate named-product Medicare payment was identified in the reviewed CMS Radiation Oncology Model material. Evaluate the product within the radiation-therapy planning service line using net staff time after review, plan quality, rework, throughput, implementation cost, and recurring cost.
  • Public source
  • Not applicable
  • Checked 2026-09-03

No product-specific code

No separate named-product payment identified in reviewed CMS material

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services · United States

Build a local total-cost and value model; do not infer reimbursement from FDA clearance.

Safety and lifecycle

Postmarket record

Recall and adverse-event records are shown only after product matching. Adverse-event reports do not establish incidence or causality.

Postmarket safety review
The 2026-09-02 openFDA device-recall snapshot contained no record matched to K221305 by exact submission identifier.
  • Public source
  • Exact FDA submission
  • Checked 2026-09-03

A zero-result exact-identifier search does not prove that no recall, correction, adverse-event report, or product-family safety signal exists. Maintain ongoing FDA and vendor surveillance.

Buyer worksheet

Open questions to take to the vendor

Open evaluation checklist

Research record

What has been checked

This audit distinguishes completed source review from fields that have not yet been researched.

Exact FDA record reviewedStatus
2026-09-20Last searched
27Fields reviewed
13Source classes checked
8Screened PubMed leads
0Screened trial leads
0Unreviewed FDA recall leads

The refreshed discovery snapshot contains 8 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records. Discovery metadata alone does not establish exact tested-product, version, population, and endpoint applicability, so all candidates remain quarantined and none was promoted. The current discovery snapshot contains 8 PubMed and 0 ClinicalTrials.gov candidate records; its dated, count-matched human screening remains current. Unlinked candidates remain quarantined. Native FDA recall identifiers produced 0 postmarket candidate records; 0 have been reviewed (0 published, 0 rejected) and 0 remain unreviewed.

Candidate leads were screened against the exact product and tested version. Unlinked records remain quarantined.

Source classes: fda ai list, fda decision summary, vendor product page, peer reviewed publication, health technology guidance, reimbursement policy, fda device recall, fda decision summary packet, literature index, trial registry, pubmed, clinical trials, openfda device recall

Sources & history

How this profile was documented

Open the ledger for source dates, scope, and research-record updates.

View source ledger and history

Source ledger

  1. FDA K221305: AI-Rad Companion Organs RT

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Published 2022-10-14 - Accessed 2026-09-19

    Scope: purpose, anatomy, input, output, modality, intendedUsers, limitations, evidenceSummary, clinicalUse

  2. Artificial Intelligence-Enabled Medical Devices

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-08-31

    Scope: regulatoryIdentity, modalityContext

  3. PubMed biomedical literature index

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery

  4. ClinicalTrials.gov study registry

    U.S. National Library of Medicine - Accessed 2026-09-01

    Scope: evidenceDiscovery, studyStatus

  5. openFDA Device Recall API

    U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: recallDiscovery, nativeSubmissionMatching

  6. Radiation Oncology Model

    Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: reimbursement, radiationTherapyPaymentContext

  7. Artificial intelligence technologies to aid contouring for radiotherapy treatment planning

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence - Published 2023-09-27 - Accessed 2026-09-02

    Scope: limitations, training, pricing, evidenceSummary, economics, monitoring, implementationCapabilities

  8. AI-Rad Companion Organs RT product page

    Siemens Healthineers - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: productFamily, workflowRole, integration, deployment, currentCommercialContext, implementationCapabilities

  9. Multi-institutional evaluation of AI-Rad Companion Organs RT

    Clinical and Translational Radiation Oncology - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: limitations, evidenceSummary, evidenceStudy, evidenceMetrics, monitoring, implementationCapabilities

  10. Artificial intelligence contouring in radiotherapy for organs-at-risk and lymph node areas

    BMC Cancer - Accessed 2026-09-03

    Scope: limitations, evidenceSummary, evidenceStudy, evidenceMetrics, monitoring, implementationCapabilities

Research history

  1. K221305 FDA decision

    Regulatory record

    510(k)

  2. Source-review record updated

    Research record

    fda record reviewed

  3. Reader overview source-reviewed

    Editorial review

    Source-reviewed editorial overlay

Alternatives

Related tools to compare

FDA-cleared K193562

AI-Rad Companion Organs RT

Siemens Medical Solutions USA, Inc.

AI-Rad Companion Organs RT VA20 automatically contours predefined organs at risk from adult DICOM CT for qualified review, editing, and DICOM RTSTRUCT transfer into...

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Multi-region
Decision
2020-11-06
FDA-cleared K260509

AutoContour (RADAC V5)

Radformation, Inc.

AutoContour Model RADAC V5 assists radiation treatment planners with contouring and reviewing structures in medical images for radiation therapy treatment planning. It produces...

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Multi-region
Decision
2026-03-19
FDA-cleared K253091

ART-Plan+ (v3.1.0)

Therapanacea Sas

ART-Plan+ assists trained radiation-therapy professionals with multimodal image review, registration, contouring, and the release-specific planning functions described in K253091....

Modality
Radiotherapy Planning Imaging
Anatomy
Multi-region
Decision
2025-12-23